Bout of Books: I’m In!

15 Aug

I know, I know. I haven’t done a Friday post in a while. Well, there’s a good reason for this exception. I’ve decided to participate in Bout of Books!

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I don’t have much time before I start grad school so I want to take advantage of the week. And I’ve got goals; minor but grand goals! I’ll be on a business trip, so I think this will afford me more time to read than normal, but I could be wrong. We’ll see. Anyway, goals.

  1. Read 1 hour every day
  2. Read at least 50 pages per day (which shouldn’t be an issue given the above)
  3. Finish two books

I’m going for pages more than books. I’m not going to start a new book and only read short little ones so that I get more titles in. I’d rather read more in length.

There are a few books I’ve already started that I want to finish and some I’ll be starting soon that I want to sail through. So, here’s an approximate list of the titles I’ll attack.

  1. Canada by Richard Ford (already begun)
  2. Beneath a Marble Sky by John Shors
  3. Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan (audio, already begun)

Maybe I’ll add more, maybe not. We’ll see how this challenge goes. I’m excited. GET EXCITED WITH ME!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

4 Responses to “Bout of Books: I’m In!”

  1. alibrarianslibrary August 16, 2014 at 1:32 AM #

    Pages are good, too! Whatever makes you feel accomplished at the end of the week is GREAT! It’s all about the fun! 😉 #readstrong

    Like

    • Sam August 16, 2014 at 8:40 AM #

      I’d rather get a big jump on some chunksters then go through my YAs. I’m really excited!

      Like

  2. Molly Mortensen August 16, 2014 at 8:47 PM #

    After I did so poorly on my last read a thon I wasn’t planning on participating in this one, but now I might give it a shot. 🙂 Good luck meeting your goals!

    Like

    • Sam August 16, 2014 at 11:36 PM #

      Thank you! It’s my first one and I wonder how it will all play out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

