My NaNoWriMo Plans; on being a rebel.

30 Oct

I’ve been open with my friends about NaNo, but now I’m going to make a public decry:

I’m not going to participate in National Novel Writing Month this year

…in the traditional sense.

Last year, I powered through 50,000 words in nineteen days and ended up with a manuscript that’s has an okay structure and pacing that needs work with a character I don’t like all that much.

And today, I have the exact same thing.

I need to edit it! What’s the point of writing a NaNo book if all it does is sit on my desk collecting dust (which I removed when a moved but is re-accumulating) and never gets edited? The last thing I want is another 50,000 draft sitting on my desk to bury under this one. So I won’t be adding another draft.

Instead, I’ll be editing the first one. I hope to commit about a half hour every day to working on editing the draft I have. I can write the required 1,667 words in about that time, so this will be my equivalent. I hope to use write-ins around my area to write for even more time, but I realize that my schooling comes first so I’ll have to take care of that. My husband is done coaching for the season so he’s said he’ll support me around the house more.

I hope to update my progress here in place of some of my book review posts. I’ll have to play blog catch-up in December, but I can do that easily. So check back here to see how awesome I am at being a rebel!

Are you doing NaNoWriMo? Are you rebelling like me? Doesn’t it feel great? Any way you look at it, have a happy November.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

15 Responses to “My NaNoWriMo Plans; on being a rebel.”

  1. Gwen Knight October 30, 2014 at 12:30 PM #

    Good luck! I’ll be partaking, but also editing a second project, so… a little of both?

    Like

    • Sam October 30, 2014 at 1:31 PM #

      Yikes, that’s ambitious! Best of luck on your goal and happy writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. novellajunker1969 October 30, 2014 at 12:40 PM #

    I’ve never tried before, so I’m taking my friend Quill’s advice and giving a real try this year.
    Junker

    Like

    • Sam October 30, 2014 at 1:32 PM #

      That’s a great way to jump in. I wasn’t sure what I was getting into last year so I jumped in with two feet and had a blast! Hopefully I can get a second draft together for this one and get some reader opinion before I re-write it again.
      Happy writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. readingcook October 30, 2014 at 12:41 PM #

    Sounds to me like you are taking NaNo to the next level. Brilliant!!!

    Like

    • Sam October 30, 2014 at 1:33 PM #

      It’s like NaNo Part II; the second year. I hope it goes well!

      Like

  4. Marianne Knowles October 30, 2014 at 12:52 PM #

    1667 words in half an hour? Wow you’re fast! No wonder it takes me forever to write!

    To answer your question no, I won’t be sound NaNo this year. I need to finish my current WIP.

    Like

    • Sam October 30, 2014 at 1:34 PM #

      I was banned from winning word wars at a couple write-ins last year, haha. Good luck with your current WIP! And I think it’s good you realize you need to finish the WIP before you begin another project. I hope you can use NaNo to find a supportive environment.
      Happy Writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jae October 30, 2014 at 1:50 PM #

    I think editing is a fantastic idea. That’s probably what I’ll be doing for part of NaNo as well. Maybe I’ll rebel with you. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Sam October 30, 2014 at 1:51 PM #

      Please do! I read another blogger who’s doing the same thing. I guess all the writing blogs I started following last November are getting around to editing about the same time. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Jae October 30, 2014 at 1:53 PM #

        I’m already doing some rewrites, so I guess that’s technically editing, right? And that will continue on into November, so might as well. Yeah, NaNo rebels unite!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. blackmutts October 31, 2014 at 1:59 PM #

    I also can’t follow the traditional NaNoWriMo model without abandoning my manuscript- I’d rather close out the year with one manuscript I’m proud of instead of two I’m embarrassed by!

    Like

    • Sam October 31, 2014 at 2:30 PM #

      Amen to that! I want one I can show people instead of two piles on my desk.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. siderealday November 3, 2014 at 10:47 PM #

    Best of luck, Sam! And I’m glad you decided to participate, even as a rebel. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Sam November 4, 2014 at 6:51 PM #

      Thanks, Michelle! I hope to see you at a few write-ins.

      Like

Leave a Reply

