Life of a NaNoWriMo Rebel: Week 1

10 Nov

Oh the hard life of a rebel. Instead of slaving over a word count each day, I’m working against the clock: average 30 minutes a day in front of my computer, working on editing. And in truth, it’s not going too badly. Here’s the update:

Day 1: Nothing

Day 2: 1 hour

Day 3: 30 minutes

Day 4: 1 hour

Day 5: Nothing

Day 6: Nothing

Day 7: Nothing

Day 8: 4 hours

Day 9: 1.5 hours

My friend Nicole and I headed to my parents cabin for the weekend (days 7-9). Arriving on Friday, we were too tired to write and saved all our energy for Saturday (8) and then headed home on Sunday (9). I’d been slacking earlier in the week because I had a grad school assignment due, but I was able to make it up (obviously because I’m so awesome).

So, as a rebel, how am I looking? I’ve been using the manuscript I wrote last November and trying to give it some more life. I don’t really like this story, to be honest, and it feels flat to me. I’m adding dept to the characters and putting in back story that I decided 40,000 words in needed to exist last time around. It’s time to fix my mistakes. The scene I alluded to and then forgot to write? Adding it! The character that appears out of no where 2/3 of the way in? Entering some foreshadowing! Hopefully I can find my passion for this book but so far, nothing. I promised myself I’d give it one more try before it goes in a drawer as a best effort and it’s looking like it might sit there. That is, until I’m crazy famous one day and they’ll publish anything that’s ever been saved on my computer. I’m still waiting for that day.

How’s your NaNo? Are you traditional or a rebel like me? I hope you’re enjoying the process as much as I am!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

2 Responses to “Life of a NaNoWriMo Rebel: Week 1”

  1. blackmutts November 10, 2014 at 10:00 PM #

    I have one manuscript that I “finished” at about 100 double spaced pages, and I gave up on expanding it. The one I’m working on now is, unfortunately about 120,000 words. Sighs. Half of it was painful on the second read- I couldn’t figure out why I had written entire conversations! and I was the one who wrote them! (I also accidentally changed a character’s name fifty pages in)- and now it’s like brackish water- I’ll be ready to give up because these 20 pages is so sluggish then the next scene will flow awesomely.

    Like

    • Sam November 11, 2014 at 10:39 AM #

      I’m hoping I don’t have to give up on this manuscript, but it’s not at all motivating which is a bad sign. I’d like to be passionate about a project I’m working on. Cutting seems to be easier than adding which works in your favor. Good luck with editing! It can be a slog to work through.

      Like

Leave a Reply

