Second Draft Done?

3 Sep

I think? I think it’s done? It feels so weird to say I finished the second draft after a year of working on it. It seemed like an insurmountable task. I dragged my feet through it. But it’s done? Really?

So what now? What comes next? I’m hoping to get it out to some beta readers for initial thoughts. No one has read this story before. And I’m going to let it sit. Yes, that seems silly after slowly picking away at it for so long, but there are some other things I want to get to. I have a short story almost ready to start circulating. I have some fanfiction I abandoned and want to wrap up. And most importantly, I have my YA novel that needs a third draft and some fine tuning. It’s time to give that baby some tender loving care. It’s been sitting longer.

So that’s my plan. This is a big step and it feels like one, but it’s a big step int he middle of a long journey. Thanks for being here for it and supporting me along the way. You guys all rock and I’m loving the happy-feels I get from you. Love you back.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

4 Responses to “Second Draft Done?”

  1. siderealday September 4, 2015 at 2:33 PM #

    Congratulations, Sam! I always like to let a finished piece sit for a while once it’s done so that I can come back to it with fresh eyes, so I totally understand you switching gears. Good luck with your writing.

    Like

    • Sam September 4, 2015 at 3:29 PM #

      Thanks! I hope the semester starting doesn’t to derail me too much from writing.

      Like

  2. Emily Witt September 17, 2015 at 5:00 AM #

    So exciting! Congratulations!

    Like

    • Sam September 17, 2015 at 5:29 AM #

      Thank you!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

