Books and Movies: Can you enjoy both?

15 Mar

A few weeks ago, my husband and I went on a binge and watched all three of the Millenium films in Sweedish. I haven’t read the books in 3-4 years but Lizbeth Salander and Mikel Bloomkvist are memorable and I found myself remembering some things that were going to happen before they showed up on screen. It got me thinking, would I have enjoyed these if I’d watched them right after reading the books? Did the time help me enjoy them more?

There are certain books I’ve read and know there are movie adaptations I haven’t seen for one reason or another. It’s a film that’s hard to find, I don’t like the casting, it got bad reviews, etc. However, given a dull night in winter or a raining afternoon, I’m inclined to watch anything. Sometimes I’m happily surprised, as was the case with the Millemium films. (About 20% of the amusement was listening for English cognates, though.) Other times, it’s a bad movie and I should have listened the first time around. I find with time between the book and movie, I’m not as apt to compare the two. I can enjoy the movie the same way I’d enjoy one not based on a book.

I have a promise to myself that I won’t see a book-turned-film until I read the book first. This results in a lot of same-day or same-week finish/viewings. Silver Linings Playbook is the most memorable of these for me because I couldn’t even pretend to enjoy the film because it was so different. At times, I still enjoy the movie but it’s usually a book I felt strongly about and I know no one can touch the book I fell in love with. But how do you deny that pull to see what you just imagined unfold on screen? I don’t feel like it’s possible.

How do you feel, Readers? Do you see movie adaptations right away? Do you enjoy ones where you get some space? Please leave a comment and let me know.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

13 Responses to “Books and Movies: Can you enjoy both?”

  1. readersandmore March 15, 2016 at 10:47 AM #

    In my opinion you should read the book before you see the movie. That’s my original opinion though. It might be cool to see the movie and then compare it to the book.

    Like

    • Sam March 15, 2016 at 5:26 PM #

      I’m not sure I could put the tune into a book knowing how it ends. It’s a much longer time investment. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • readersandmore March 15, 2016 at 9:33 PM #

        Yeah that’s true. I can see both sides. Happy Reading to you too!

        Like

  2. wonderfilledreads March 15, 2016 at 11:52 AM #

    I used to have this thing about always reading the book before the movie but I found myself unable to enjoy the movies that way. Instead of just letting the movie entertain me, I was too busy focusing on all the differences between it and the book. Now I have taken the other view, I prefer watching the movie before reading the book unless it’s just been so long that I won’t really notice the differences (mostly because I’ve forgotten what happens in the book).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam March 15, 2016 at 5:27 PM #

      Do you still enjoy the book after seeing the movie? I’d also think it’s hard to picture anything that’s different between the two because I already have an image in my head. How do you deal with that?

      Liked by 1 person

      • wonderfilledreads March 15, 2016 at 5:55 PM #

        Yeah, I do. It doesn’t really bother me because the book gives you so much more than the movie. You actually get to get inside the head of the characters and more stuff is explained which leads to a better experience overall. Sometimes all I can picture is the movie images but that’s not really a bad thing, it actually helps to flesh it out a bit more. But that’s just a me thing, I think. My dad tried reading The Force Awakens after seeing the movie but just couldn’t get into it. I guess I’m the opposite of most people haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads March 15, 2016 at 1:01 PM #

    I definitely like to read the book before I watch the movie (because I want to be able to picture the book without having the movie playing in my head) and most of the time, it doesn’t stop me from enjoying the movie. I just go into the movie knowing that there are going to be differences. I’m not usually too bothered by them too much simply because I go into the movie expecting them to be there. But yeah, I definitely like to watch the movies pretty much as soon as they’ve come out (or as soon as I can find them on DVD, Netflix, etc.) but only after I’ve read the book. 🙂

    Like

    • Sam March 15, 2016 at 5:29 PM #

      I get caught up on wanting to see amo is but also wanting to read the book first and not having time to read it. Then I delay seeing the movie so long I forget about it haha. I’m having this problem right now!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. alilovesbooks March 16, 2016 at 5:13 PM #

    I usually prefer reading the book first and will admit to using movie trailers to find books I want to read. In the majority of cases if they are adapting into a film it’s probably a good book. I do generally prefer to leave a gap between reading and seeing the film so the differences are less obvious and there are some films I will probably never watch for fear they’ll ruin my memories of the book.

    Like

    • Sam March 16, 2016 at 6:21 PM #

      The books I love turning to movies is terrifying. Though with some books, the movies are well done, though I’m always apprehensive and think my favorite scenes will get cut (which they often do). Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. charliegirlteachergirl March 17, 2016 at 3:12 AM #

    I haven’t watched the last four or so in the Harry Potter series, and I definitely need to go back and watch them after a re-read. I think I would enjoy them more. The time gap has made me forget about some things and storylines.

    Like

    • Sam March 17, 2016 at 12:45 PM #

      I watch movie 6 a lot but haven’t read the book in a long time. I’m going through it now and realizing how much I completely forgot about! Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

