My Big Book Dilema

18 Jul

My big West Coast trip is coming up fast! I’m beyond excited and starting to put together my baggage. I’m having some serious bookish struggles, though. I need your help, Readers!

I posted this on Instagram yesterday and I’m still struggling with what to do. I have about 150 pages left in this book and I’ve been reading it forever because it’s quite the chunk! I love Irving and I’m finally into the book and enjoying it so I hate to put it aside for a trip, but it’s so big! It’s going to take up a lot of precious space! Especially for only 150 more pages, I’m wondering if it’s worth it.

The other side to this is that I plan on selling the books I finish to a used book store while I’m on my trip. I’ll then buy some more so it’s kind of like recycling, right? So, if I take this book, I won’t bring it home. This makes me sad because I love John Irving and I won’t be able to add this one to my collection (which is a measly 4 right now despite how many of his titles I’ve read). Not bringing it home is making me teary.

I’m so lost and having some serious bookworm problems, Reader. What should I do? Help a girl out.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

6 Responses to “My Big Book Dilema”

  1. madbooklove July 18, 2017 at 11:04 AM #

    If it were me, I’d leave it at home, especially since it sounds like you’d be disappointed to let it go at the end. If you want to finish the last 150 pages during the trip, could you possibly do so on a Kindle or other ereader/app? You could check it out at the library and pick up where you left off in the print version and then you don’t need to worry about lugging it along. I’m not sure how you feel about ereaders (you’re packing physical books, so I suppose that’s a fair answer?), but it’s an option. Good luck in deciding what to do and have fun on the West Coast. I live in Maine now, but I lived in California most of my life. Hopefully we’ll get pictures?

    Like

    • Sam July 18, 2017 at 2:31 PM #

      I’m not a big fan of ereaders to be honest. I usually keep an ebook in my phone in case I get stranded somewhere but I tend to avoid the medium. I’ll take a look and see if it’s available because it’s better to finish it than leave it waiting until I get back!
      I’ll be posting pictures to Instagram while away and I’ll write about the bookstores I visit when I get back. Happy reading!

      Like

  2. QuietBlogster July 18, 2017 at 11:56 AM #

    West Coast is a blast! Have fun!

    Like

    • Sam July 18, 2017 at 2:31 PM #

      Thank you, I’m really looking forward to being near the ocean. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie @ Girl of 1000 Wonders July 19, 2017 at 1:52 PM #

    If it bothers you that much to depart with it, I would leave it at home. I hope you enjoy your trip!!

    Like

    • Sam July 19, 2017 at 5:09 PM #

      Thanks! My mom made me think about it today and it’s not one I would lend out so I think I’m going to sell it. Irving has much better books. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

