Favorite Female Writers: #3

16 Oct

I’ll be honest: I don’t have any book reviews or writing-related posts for you all this week. School and race training have gotten in the way. What I do have to share with you is a top three list, starting today, continuing tomorrow, and ending Thursday. I want to share with you my top three favorite female writers and talk about why they’re so amazing and why I’m going to encourage everyone to check them out. So, let’s start with #3.

S.E. Hinton

This is an obvious choice for me. Hinton is the author of my favorite non-series book of all time, The Outsiders. I never read this book in school but other classes at my school did and it was reviewed as ‘OK.’ For a required book, that’s the highest praise a book can get and I decided I wanted to read it myself and see how ‘OK’ it was. I was immediately hooked. I went on to read the other YA books Hinton wrote, That Was Then, This is NowTex, and Taming the Star Runner. To me, none compared to The Outsiders but I had very high expectations.

To me, The Outsiders is a perfect book. It has relatable characters who are flawed and who are changed by the course of events in the book without anything seeming forced or out-of-place. The characters and lines from the book stay with you for long after you read it. In fact, I mentioned to a friend that this was my favorite book at a dinner once and he said he hadn’t read it. Almost everyone else at the table was shocked and started telling each other to “Stay gold.” I was in my happy place.

Another reason I admire Hinton is that she write The Outsiders, her first book, while in high school. The raw talent that shows is astounding. I’ve wanted to be a writer since high school and I’ve always felt that if Hinton did it, I could have done it, too, had I tried hard enough. And just because I didn’t then doesn’t mean I can’t now.

I’ve lent this book to people more times than I can count because I think it’s essential reading. I’m always scared, though, that it won’t come back or will come back damaged. You have to be a really good friend to borrow this one!

So there’s #3 of my top favorite female writers. Turn in tomorrow for #2 and Thursday for #1!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

