WWW Wednesday, 23-April-2014

23 Apr

I’m always overwhelmed by my own post for WWW Wednesday hosted by MizB. I hope I can finish all the books I’m starting. Also, should I start including pictures? What do you all think?
www_wednesdays4The Three Ws are:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading: I feel like I’m adding more to this list than I’m taking off. I started reading The Geography of Memory by Jeanne Murray Walker which really excited me because I didn’t think I’d get to! This is a Goodreads First Read I got ages ago and haven’t been able to start. I’m only a little bit in and really enjoying it, but I’m putting it on hold because I’ve got a wave of book club books tumbling down on me. The first is The City and the City by China Mieville. Can anyone spell his name phonetically for me? I’m curious. It’s very science-fiction-y and that’s not usually my thing so we’ll see how this goes. So far, so good. On my phone I’m still working through The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. It’s slow going here. The story is good, but not grabbing me the way I hoped it would. I hope it picks up soon.

On audio I’m about half way through And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. I’m sad to announce that I’m not as into this story as I’d hoped to be. I’m hoping it’s a slow start, but it’s dragging a little. I think part of it is the narrators. Two of them have such strong accents that it distracts from how much I’m enjoying the story. I still have Cabin Pressure by Josh Wolk to listen to while I’m cooking and cleaning and I’m really enjoying this option. It makes cooking funny.

Recently finished: I finished reading Before You Know Kindness by Chris Bohjalian on Friday. I adored the book, a full 5 out of 5 stars. I’m writing the review now and it should be up next week. I got tweeted by the author and it made my day!

Reading Next:  I’ll be starting two more books in the next week. The first is The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa which is for my book club. It’s a short one so I’m hoping I won’t be held up on it for too long. The second is The Maze Runner by James Dashner. This is the book chosen for my first Read Along With Me series. We haven’t started yet and there’s still time to join. There’s more information here and you can email me at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com if you’re interested in joining us.

Phew that was long! What are your three Ws? Leave a comment and let me know and also check out the original post on MizB’s blog!

Be sure to follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. You can see all of these on the right hand bar. (You know you want to.)

Until next time, write on.

5 Responses to “WWW Wednesday, 23-April-2014”

  1. Karsyn Smith April 23, 2014 at 12:41 PM #

    Thanks for visiting my WWW. 🙂 Mieville (I don’t know how it sounds either, I say my-ville) isn’t what I usually read either, but I read Un-Lun-Dun and really enjoyed it, so I hope you’ll like The City and The City. I love Maze Runner. It’s a great read, I hope

    Like

    • Karsyn Smith April 23, 2014 at 12:41 PM #

      dunno why part got cut off, but I was saying ~ I hope that you and your read along group enjoy it.

      Like

    • Sam April 23, 2014 at 1:10 PM #

      I’ve heard MAY-VILLE so I’m not sure anyone knows how to say it! The more I’m getting into the book, the more I’m liking it. I’ll have a chunk of time to read later today so I’m hoping I enjoy what I get through.
      My husband read ‘The Maze Runner’ last summer and really loved it so I’m looking forward to it a lot! I think it will be a great book for our group.

      Like

  2. heartofsultana April 24, 2014 at 1:15 AM #

    Just looked it up, China pronounces his last name as “mee-AY-vill” 🙂 Also, book pics are cool but sometimes frustrating when there are multiple books per section (I’m still trying to figure out how I’d like to do pics for my WWW posts!). I really like that you have the Goodreads links for each of the books, though, I find that really useful. I may have to do that too. I can’t wait to get started on the read along!

    Like

    • Sam April 24, 2014 at 5:50 AM #

      I was thinking the same about pictures. With how many I read at once, it could be overwhelming!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.