Friday 56, 9-January-2015

9 Jan

Welcome to the below 0 degrees edition of The Friday 56 hosted by Freda on Freda’s Voice. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs.

Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

I’ve finally gotten my ebook back! So now I want to share a quote from that selection, The Doomsday Book by Connie Willis.

Kivrin looked at Lady Yvolde’s priedieu longingly, thinking of the plastic kneeling pads that hung on the backs of the chairs in St. Mary’s.

I choose this passage because it helps highlight how out of her element Kivrin is after having traveled back in time almost 1000 years. She thought she’d studied enough and had practiced ‘going without’ modern conveniences, but she still misses the comforts of home. I can’t wait to see where her journey takes her.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

26 Responses to “Friday 56, 9-January-2015”

  1. laurelrainsnow January 9, 2015 at 11:15 AM #

    I can relate to nostalgia…and this one sounds like a book in which nostalgia might come up now and then.

    Here’s mine: “COPPER BEACH”

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 11:38 AM #

      She gets nostalgic quite often. It’s not exactly culture shock, but I’m not sure there’s a name for ‘time change shock.’

      Like

  2. Jacqui Murray January 9, 2015 at 11:32 AM #

    This book sounds great. I love reading how our ancestors lived, especially long long ago. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 11:39 AM #

      Thanks for reading! It’s a very academic approach to time travel, which I haven’t read before and I’m enjoying it so far. Happy reading!

      Like

  3. Topazshell January 9, 2015 at 12:06 PM #

    I really, really want to read this one. I think our library read it as a city at one point. I might have the memory wrong. Still, I want to read it. Have to do it soon. I’ve always heard it’s a good Time Travel.

    Like

    • Sam January 13, 2015 at 2:30 PM #

      I’m still really enjoying it. I hope you can get a copy in the near future. You’re very right; good time travel is hard to find and this one has been really enjoyable.

      Like

  4. Stormi D Johnson January 9, 2015 at 12:37 PM #

    Interesting, I haven’t heard of this book. 🙂

    Stormi
    Friday 56

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 12:50 PM #

      It was recommended to me by a co-worker and I’ve enjoyed it so far. Happy Reading!

      Like

  5. Sandra Nachlinger January 9, 2015 at 1:07 PM #

    This sounds like something completely different from what I’ve been reading lately. Your Friday 56 selection intrigues me.
    My Friday post features FETCHING LOVE.

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 1:16 PM #

      I’m a big fan of historical novels and this one is great because there is a parallel story with the academics who sent her back in tine so I get a semi-modern side as well. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. sherry fundin January 9, 2015 at 1:26 PM #

    Historical novels are hit and miss with me. I’m glad you are enjoying it.
    sherry @ fundinmental Friday Memes

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 1:32 PM #

      So far so good. The biggest problem with historical novels is that they’re always so long!
      Happy Reading.

      Like

  7. Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library January 9, 2015 at 5:39 PM #

    Oh that does sound interesting! It does make me wonder what unexpected modern conveniences we’d really miss. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 5:59 PM #

      Thanks for reading! Being January, I think I’d most miss central heat!

      Like

  8. Amanda Marie January 9, 2015 at 6:11 PM #

    This sounds really interesting. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 6:15 PM #

      You’re welcome. Happy reading.

      Like

  9. Lauren January 9, 2015 at 7:20 PM #

    I’ve heard so much about this! I’m going to have to read it soon. 🙂

    Here’s mine.

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 7:23 PM #

      I’ve really enjoyed it so far, I hope you’ll like it as well. Your book sounds really good. The style does remind me of Green. Happy reading!

      Like

  10. Laura Thomas January 9, 2015 at 9:18 PM #

    This makes me think of Somewhere In Time. You might think you’re ready, have studied enough, but the past is still a mytsery. I don’t think I’d want to go back in time but this book sounds fascinating.
    Here’s my 56 – http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/01/09/the-friday-56-47-dinosaur-lake-iii-infestation/

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 11:11 PM #

      It’s interesting to see time travel as a research tool the way this book portrays it. I think that would make a lot mode people want to be historians!

      Like

  11. fredamans January 9, 2015 at 9:36 PM #

    Priedieu? I gotta go look that one up. 🙂
    Happy weekend!

    Like

    • Sam January 9, 2015 at 11:13 PM #

      I believe it’s a fancy form of a church kneeler that rich people would take with them or use for private prayer in their home. I’m personally just fine with the vinyl ones my church provides. 🙂

      Like

  12. Claudia {SparrowHawk} January 10, 2015 at 4:14 PM #

    Time travelling!? I’ll have to see how much you like this one, because while I do LOVE time travel, many of the books out there fail to appease my cravings. This one sounds fun though! Have a lovely weekend Sam!

    Like

    • Sam January 10, 2015 at 5:16 PM #

      Thanks, Claudia! It’s fun that it parallels past and future. It’s a historical dystopian! Happy reading.

      Like

  13. Cynthia January 11, 2015 at 5:06 AM #

    That is a really intriguing quote. 🙂

    Like

    • Sam January 11, 2015 at 9:23 AM #

      I’m glad you like it. I thought it was a good representation of the character’s feelings in the book.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.