Friday 56, 26-December-2014

26 Dec

Welcome to the I’m in Ohio edition of The Friday 56 hosted by Freda on Freda’s Voice. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs.

Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

My recent physical book is one for my book club that I’m not really enjoying, but am determined to get through. It’s called The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. Here’s a quote from page 56:

He had never walked so far in a day but he had covered eight and a half miles and he was hungry for more.

The premise is that Harold is walking the length of England, covering about 8 miles a day. This quote is from the beginning of his journey, when it’s all going well. I’ll let you read to see how it starts to go later on.

Shameless plug: If you’re interested in joining an on-line book club, my Read Along With Me #3 is starting soon and I’d love to have some more readers. We’re going to be reading The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera and will start in January. Send me and email if you’re interested!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

2 Responses to “Friday 56, 26-December-2014”

  1. TheSkepticalReader December 26, 2014 at 12:59 PM #

    Sad that you are not enjoying this one. I loved it. Especially the ending makes it all worth it, if you make it through. 😉

    Like

    • Sam December 26, 2014 at 5:01 PM #

      I actually finished it last night (wrote this in advance) and while I liked the ending, I think the book was too slow getting there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.