Book Nerd News 23-Feb-16

23 Feb

As many of you know, I took last week off from blogging. There were two things that happened while I was ‘off’ that I think are worth discussing with  you like-minded folk here in the blogosphere. My opinions are below.

Amazing News: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child will be released as a book on July 31.

AHH! It’s real, the magic is continuing. J.K. Rowling worked with other writers to put together a two-part stage play of an eighth book in the Harry Potter universe which begins after Harry sends Albus Severus off on the train to Hogwarts. The play opens on July 30th and the screenplay will be available on July 31st.

Honestly, I think I’m going to go into work late on the 31st. There’s a midnight release party at a bookstore in Ann Arbor that I want to go to. Honestly, I love that Rowling is still invested in her characters and thinking about them so long after the book ended. Things keep happening for Potter fans and the magic hasn’t ended. Now I’ve got to find a way to make it to London to see this show on stage!

(News source)

Sad News: Harper Lee passed away.

I heard about this while at Disney World. Not the best place to hear such downer news. This makes me really sad and really angry at the same time. Lee’s book Go Set a Watchman was published late last year to mixed reviews (including my own). The circumstances surrounding its publication were a little hazy and in my opinion, a bit shady. It seemed like a cash grab by some greedy lawyers and publishers. It makes me sad that the last thing people will remember about Harper Lee is this mediocre book which never should have seen the printing press. We should remember her for the amazing book that many of us read in high school and gave us a great message about race and what it means to be human. RIP, Ms. Lee.

 

Reader, I’d love your thoughts on these two huge pieces of news. I’ve been dying to have some good literary conversations. Leave me a comment and let me know.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

5 Responses to “Book Nerd News 23-Feb-16”

  1. readersandmore February 23, 2016 at 9:31 PM #

    I’m so excited about the 8th book!! I’m also sad that Harper Lee passed away. I have yet to read either of her books but she seemed like such a sweet lady.

    Like

    • Sam February 23, 2016 at 9:39 PM #

      I felt she was really taken advantage of at the end. To Kill A Mockingbird is an amazing book, I hope you can read it. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • readersandmore February 23, 2016 at 10:27 PM #

        Really? I never heard about that. I really need to read that whether it be for school or not. Happy reading to you too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. top 10 web hosting services February 24, 2016 at 10:27 AM #

    i’m really excited for the new harry potter i feel like my childhood is resurrecting.

    rip to harper lee – your words touched so many of us greatly.

    Like

    • Sam February 24, 2016 at 6:07 PM #

      I’m hoping the midnight release parties bring a lot of the Potter generation back plus some children! It’s so fun to be a part of.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.