Challenge Update, May 2016

2 Jun

My book giants have fallen this month! I got through two long titles I’ve been chipping away at for months and I’m finally going to start tearing through some summer books (I hope). You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in May:

A Clash of Kings // George R.R. Martin
The Virgin Blue // Tracy Chevalier
The Art of Asking // Amanda Palmer
Harry Potter y el misterio del principe // J.K. Rowling (review coming next week)

Only one behind on reviews is pretty good for me! I’ll have it up next Monday so look out for that. Though, if you’ve been here more than a week, you know how much I love Potter.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

9/12
This is my challenge to read a book from 13 different time periods. You can read about it here. Half of The Virgin Blue was set in the 1500s so I counted it and crossed that one off of my list. I think I’ll have some 1800s books come up soon, but I’m getting concerned about the 1600s book. I might have to take a look at my list for some options, that can be a hard time period. I’m sure I’ll find something for ‘the future.’ I’ve never struggled with that era before so no sweat there.

Goodreads Challenge

20/45
I’m still two ahead of pace. With the big two giants down, I’m feeling like this one will be no sweat at all. Yay!

Book of the Month

PrincipeNo question for me this month because Potter wins everything. It’s got to be Harry Potter y el misterio del principe by J.K. Rowling. I’d forgotten a lot of the details of the book, such as why Snape calls himself the Half-Blood Prince and how Harry and Ginny really dated for a few weeks. It was so fun to revisit.

Added to my TBR

OK, so I added three. I’m not taking the list down any faster with this, but two of them are for book club so they were coming one way or another.

  • Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins. Watkins was part of the Midwest Literary Walk that I went to with my friend Amy and I bought her book and had it signed. I’m so proud of myself for keeping this to one book!
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. When I worked at a bookstore in college, we had hundreds of copies of this book for a Freshman class at the local college. I didn’t read it then and it will be fun to go through it with the book club now.
  • Still Alice by Lisa Genova. Another book club pick, I’m excited to compare this one to the movie!

How are your challenges going? I hope you’re killing it. If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

18 Responses to “Challenge Update, May 2016”

  1. Random Reads June 2, 2016 at 11:02 AM #

    You’re doing pretty darn good 🙂

    Like

    • Sam June 2, 2016 at 11:18 AM #

      Thanks! It’s been a pretty good month. I’m hoping for more the rest of the summer. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Literary Lioness June 2, 2016 at 11:56 AM #

    Nice job with the challenges!!!! You’re doing much better than I am with my GoodReads challenge hahaha

    And thanks for inviting me to your page 🙂

    Like

    • Sam June 2, 2016 at 5:12 PM #

      Welcome to it! Good luck getting your challenge completed and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sally Allen June 2, 2016 at 1:19 PM #

    When Are You Reading sounds like such a fun challenge. I look forward to reading more about it!
    I’m doing #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks this year (and did #SmashYourStack in May). With my obsessive book collecting, I needed both in a big way, and I’m doing okay. More than half the books I’ve read this year have been my own.

    Like

    • Sam June 2, 2016 at 5:13 PM #

      Nice! I struggle to read my books because of book club selections. Let me know if you’re interested in doing When Are You Reading. I’ll add you to the participants list. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sally Allen June 2, 2016 at 5:43 PM #

        Thank you, I’d love to join! I’ve been wanting to reread The Canterbury Tales and The Odyssey, and this will give me the perfect inspiration. Can I count titles retroactively from what I’ve read so far this year? Just did a quick tally, and I’ve read books in 8 of the categories!

        Like

      • Sam June 2, 2016 at 8:03 PM #

        Of course! It’s a 2016 challenge so any book from that year will count. I’ll add you to the page. If you dedicate a page to the challenge, let me know and I’ll link there. Glad to have you join us!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sally Allen June 2, 2016 at 9:08 PM #

        Awesome, thank you! I’ll definitely be dedicating a post to the challenge and will let you know. I’m excited. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Loreen June 2, 2016 at 1:30 PM #

    Good work on the challenges, you are doing really well. I’d not heard of the When Are You Reading Challenge before today. It look really great. I might have to try that one next year. I just finished a May challenge. Here’s a link to my wrap up:

    #SmashYourStacks May Wrap Up

    Happy June reading!

    Like

    • Sam June 2, 2016 at 5:15 PM #

      This is the third year I’ve hosted the challenge and it would be great to have you join next year! I’ll look forward to it. Happy reading!

      Like

  5. Yvo June 2, 2016 at 3:17 PM #

    You’re doing great with your challenges! And two giant books as well; I still have to read mine this year. I’m also at 9/12 with the When Are You Reading Challenge?, and of course it’s the early periods that are still empty… I’m planning on working on that soon though. 😉 I hope you’ll have a great reading month!

    Like

    • Sam June 2, 2016 at 5:32 PM #

      I’ve had trouble with the 1600s before and I’m struggling with it again! I hope my book club picks something I can use there, but I’m not counting on it. It might be time to search through my shelves. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yvo June 3, 2016 at 2:28 PM #

        I read The Miniaturist for the 1600s (setting in 1686) and it was a really interesting read if you are still looking for a title. I have the 16th and 18th century still open plus 1900-1919 as well, but if I remember correctly the only one I haven’t found a title for is the 18th century.

        Like

      • Sam June 3, 2016 at 3:04 PM #

        I read The Miniaturist to fill that era last year haha. 1890s is an area I have open still as well. Happy reading!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yvo June 3, 2016 at 3:48 PM #

        Haha I guess that won’t be working then. I hope you’ll find another title! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. charliegirlteachergirl June 2, 2016 at 10:34 PM #

    You’re doing so well with your challenges! I’m doing okay with most, except for my NetGalley challenge. I am failing at that hardcore, but I plan on spending most of summer trying my best to get there!

    Like

    • Sam June 3, 2016 at 5:58 AM #

      I always count on summer to catch up. Good luck and happy reading!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.