I think I got an eReader…

23 Jun

I’ve resisted eReaders for ages. My mother has offered to buy me one for ages because she loves her Nook and Kindle so much. People have offered me eBooks that I’ve turned down because I prefer printed books. But, I might have an eReader. Or something that could function as an eReader.

My husband and I ‘won’ a free tour of a member-only family-friendly RV resort. Since we have neither children nor an RV, we weren’t really interested. But, they told us, it comes with a free weekend of camping and a tablet. Free camping weekend? We were so in.

img_3089It was obvious the second we walked in that we were not ideal customers for this place so the 90-minute tour turned to 45 and we were out of there in less than an hour. With a tablet. I’d known we’d get it, but until my husband handed it to me and said, “Now you have one,” I hadn’t processed what we’d do with it. It’s a mini and runs an Android platform. I’m not sure what to do with it besides use it as an eReader. I downloaded the Kindle app and that’s about all I plan to do with it.

I’m not sure this will get me reading more eBooks. I love paper books and I love the look of them on my shelf and discovering them in used book shops. I love feeling a book in my hand and turning physical pages. Maybe I’ll find a use for this new contraption. maybe I won’t. But for now, I’ve got it and we’ll see what happens.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

17 Responses to “I think I got an eReader…”

  1. ahouseofbooks June 23, 2016 at 10:34 AM #

    I’ve had a Kindle for a few years now and although I still tend to prefer ‘real’ books, I have found myself reading ebooks more frequently recently. It does take some getting used to but I do like the convenience of it – it’s so easy to travel with for example.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam June 23, 2016 at 12:22 PM #

      That’s what my mom has always said to me. I’ll see how I feel about it when I cross a situation where it would be convenient. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haley M. (@hmills96) June 23, 2016 at 10:35 AM #

    Do you read classics? The best thing about Kindle is that you can download most classics for free from Amazon. And (at least with the paperwhite version), you can see what people have highlighted previously–so it helps you pay attention to key quotes and sections. When reading difficult books, I find that helps tremendously. I’ll always prefer “real” books, but there are some books I actually prefer my paperwhite for.

    Oh, another thing, you should download Overdrive. Most libraries use it for their ebooks, and you’ll be able to borrow them straight from the library without leaving your desk. I usually load mine up when going on vacation, instead of packing a suitcase full of books. Anywhere I know I’m going to have limited space (airplanes, camping, etc.). It’s just convenient.

    Anyway, there’s my two cents. I think once you start using it, it’ll become more of your reading life than you think it will. It won’t ever become your favorite way to read, probably, but it is very much a handy tool

    Like

    • Sam June 23, 2016 at 12:25 PM #

      Yes, I use Overdrive, Hoopla, and 3M for ebooks currently so I plan on all of those on this reader. I don’t read the classics much. It’s not a Kindle, just has the app so I’m not sure if all of those features you mention would be available to me. I worry about the battery dying while I’m camping so I’m iffy about using it for that. Thanks for the advice and happy reading!

      Like

  3. Alastair Savage June 23, 2016 at 10:42 AM #

    I see my ereader as a complement to traditional books. It’s especially handy when I need a book in a hurry. The really annoying thing is that amazon’s ebooks are more expensive than the physical ones. How does that work?

    Like

    • Sam June 23, 2016 at 12:25 PM #

      Ugh honestly I don’t get it. If you’re cutting materials costs, it should be cheaper! Happy reading!

      Like

  4. Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary) June 23, 2016 at 10:48 AM #

    I love using my paperwhite for reading at night. The fact that I can adjust it to the dimmest of illuminations – just enough to see what I’m reading, without having the overall light from a bedside lamp on is fantastic

    Like

    • Sam June 23, 2016 at 12:26 PM #

      I’ve found eye strain from a screen before bed makes it harder for me to sleep so it’s interesting you say that. I might have to give this a go. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary) June 23, 2016 at 1:21 PM #

        I think it’s because the paperwhite, at it’s lowest levels, doesn’t get anywhere near *white*. It’s almost like candlelight from behind the page. It doesn’t make me feel like there’s any eye strain at all.

        Like

      • Sam June 23, 2016 at 3:35 PM #

        I don’t know if my free tablet will have that kind of a feature. I can only hope.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads June 23, 2016 at 11:50 AM #

    I’ve always preferred reading physical books too, but once I started blogging I got a Kindle and I really like it. There are a lot of good deals for ebooks and I’ve been able to buy books that I’ve wanted for a long time for only two or three dollars instead of the $10+ it would cost for a physical copy. Once I had a Kindle I could get a lot more review copies too because a lot of indie authors and smaller publishers only offer digital ARCs and I could use NetGalley too. 🙂

    Like

    • Sam June 23, 2016 at 12:28 PM #

      I have such a backlog of physical books to get through that I’m scared of buying a ton of ebooks now haha. I don’t use Netgalley but I have run across authors without a physical book to provide. This might be good for that. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Random Reads June 24, 2016 at 1:49 PM #

    I love reading physical books. I personally would never be able to use a eReader. At least not frequently

    Like

    • Sam June 24, 2016 at 2:58 PM #

      So far I think I’ve read three pages. This will be an uphill battle. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Random Reads June 24, 2016 at 4:22 PM #

        Good luck! Happy reading to you too 😀

        Like

  7. charliegirlteachergirl June 24, 2016 at 5:11 PM #

    I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.