Archive | 10:32 AM

Writers Group: Getting ready for NaNo!

27 Oct

For those of you reading this who are also writers, you know that NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is just around the corner. My library does an awesome NaNo program and we utilized our writers’ group meeting this month to talk about the process.

The teen librarian at our branch location is a writer and big fan of NaNo.  She utilized the time to talk about the history of NaNo and how this crazy experiment came to be. It’s a great time to let our characters (and plots) run free and many people have found great inspiration during NaNo. Unlike the traditional 50K words goal, our library program encourages people to pursue their own goals and chase them as we choose. (I already posted about my NaNo Rebel Plan). We host write-ins twice a week and having the community creates a great guilt trip for not participating!

For those of you participating or thinking of participating in NaNo, I encourage you to find your local region on nanowrimo.org. I’m very fortunate to live in a major region (that may or may not consistently beat Chicago for words writing) and one of the MLs (Municipal Liasons) for the Detroit region was at our humble library meeting. Events are kicking off this weekend for the event kick off next Tuesday.

This will be my fourth year ‘participating’ in NaNo. I won traditionally in 2013 and have used the last two years to edit, a practice I will continue this year. If you are at all intrigued, I encourage you to check out events and others in your region (check the site!). If you happen to be a fellow Detroit-writer, check out the region events- they’re awesome and there are tons of them.

Best of luck to my fellow writers! I’ll be joining you on November 10th as soon as my final exam is over.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!