Archive | 10:32 AM

Announcing the 2017 When Are You Reading? Challenge

29 Dec

 

when-are-you-reading-2017-finalIf you’re picking out your 2017 reading challenges, add this to your list! I’m hosting the 4th annual When Are You Reading? Challenge! It’s a short challenge, only 12 books, which challenges you to read books set or published in different time periods. Those periods are:

  • Pre 1500
  • 1500-1599
  • 1600-1699
  • 1700-1799
  • 1800-1899
  • 1900-1919
  • 1920-1939
  • 1940-1959
  • 1960-1979
  • 1980-1999
  • 2000-Present
  • The Future

At only one book a month, this one has always been fast and fun. Often I find the books I was going to read anyway fit into the time periods. There are very few ‘rules’ associated with the challenge. I put it in quotations because you’re free to do what you want with it.

‘Rules’

  • Determination of what year a book belongs in is the decision of the participant. On the whole, choose a year where the largest part of the action occurs or the most important event.
  • I will compile a list of those participating on this page but you must link back to this page to be added to the list so that other participants can find us!

It works best if you dedicate a page or post to tracking your books so I can link to it. I had thirteen participants last year and I’m hoping a bunch of you are interested again this year! It’s a fun time for me especially and I love sharing historical fiction with all of you.

If you’re interested, let me know and grab the graphic my fabulous husband designed (amazing, right?) to let others know you’re participating. I can’t wait for you to join!

Pages for the 2017 challenge will be up soon. Check back for updates and further announcements.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!