Archive | 10:43 AM

Do You Read in Bed?

9 Nov

Reading before bed has been a ritual for me as long as I can remember. As a kid, I’d read until my mom told me to turn out the light. Now, I read while my husband brushes his teeth. Even in college, when I’d be up until after midnight and need to be up early again the next day, I would read at least two pages before turning out the light. It’s helped me to calm down before bed, even if a plot is ramping up.

I have to admit that in the past few years since smartphones have become a steady part of our lives, I’ve slipped a bit. I’ll check Instagram for cute baby pictures and Facebook to see new movie trailers. And then I won’t read as many pages because it’s later and I’m already so tired of reading status updates.

And it seems I’m not alone. I found this article which talks about what a fleeting experience reading in bed is. It’s an experience that hasn’t been around a long time and that looks to be going away quickly. And that makes me sad.

Having no screen-time before bed is supposed to promote healthier sleep. Books, real paper books, can do that. As easy as it is to watch a video or read an article, I continue to force myself to put my phone down and pick up some words printed on a page. I really hope this isn’t a fad. It’s a tradition I plan to pursue for the rest of my life.

Do you read in bed? Printed word or ebook? I’m curious if anyone else agrees with me on the health benefits of reading before bed.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!