Archive | 10:32 AM

Challenge Update, July 2018

6 Aug

I’m back! After spending the last two weeks of July on vacation, this seems like the perfect way to dive back into blogging and catch up a bit on what I missed while I was gone. Probably not my best reading month since I was gone for so much of it, but I’m excited to report what I can. You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in July:

Critical Chain // Eliyahu Goldratt
The Fifth Assassin // Brad Meltzer
The Post-Birthday World // Lionel Shriver

Honestly, I thought it would be worse. I knew I was going to fall a bit behind on books while I was gone but finishing three was better than I hoped for. I’ve finished one more so far in August and I think I’ll wrap up another two in short order. I can still do this!

When Are You Reading? Challenge

7/12
Again, no change. I’ll have to start targeting specific books soon so I can finish this with no major issues before the end of the year. I’ll have to look into a new audiobook for my car to fill some in.

Goodreads Challenge

27/55
Now I’m five books behind, yikes! Like I said, I’ve got a few that will finish up shortly but I’ve really got to start reading a bit more to make this challenge work. Is it cheating to read shorter books? I might read some shorter books to make this work out for me in a reasonable time.

Book of the Month

Easily, the winner is The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver. This book kept me entertained while traveling and I loved the premise of it once I got a bit into it. The idea of one night that can change the course of your life so drastically is awesome. Shriver did great work with this one and I’ll have to look and see what else of her’s I can enjoy soon.

Added to my TBR

I’m down to 93! Nothing new was added this month which is incredible for me. I’ll keep chipping away at the pile. I’d be most comfortable with it below 50 but we’ll see what I can do.

Personal Challenge

I used these monthly posts to keep myself accountable to my personal goals for 2017 and I’m excited to do that again this year. You all were so supportive before.

  • Graduate and keep my 4.0- No change during the summer. My next (AND LAST) class starts at the beginning of September so we’ll see then.
  • Travel to Europe with my husband- DONE! It was an amazing adventure and I’d love to go again. I’ll be posting about it in my ‘Off Topic Thursday’ at the end of the month.
  • Complete a race per month- I thought we were doing a charity bike ride in July but I had the wrong dates and we’ve moved it to September. In a scramble, my husband found us a race a few hours away called the Swinging Bridge 5K. It was a really small but fun race and we both had pretty good times. Hopefully there’s no more scrambling like that for us again!
  • Complete a 2018 Weather Blanket- I haven’t touched it so I’ve got the whole summer to do. Maybe I’ll get started on that soon, it could take me a few days to catch up.

How are your challenges going so far? I hope you’re off to a good start If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge for 2018, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!