Write-Ins When You’re Not Doing NaNo

27 Nov

I was so excited to be back to my monthly writers’ group. This month, the group merges with the local NaNo group and participates in a Write-In. As I’m not doing NaNo (and using grad school as an excuse one last time), I wasn’t exactly ‘on task’ at this one. I used the first half hour to write yesterday’s blog post. But once that was finished, I had to find another way to entertain myself.

A week before, I’d had a line come to me. I’m still unsure if it’s a novel or a short story, but I wrote it down either way. I decided to use a Word War to see where it took me.

I got about 2000 words into this story. The way it’s going now, it’s a short story. It could turn into something longer, but I think I’ll start here. It was really nice to write again. I missed feeling like I’m creating something out of thin air; like I’m meeting someone for the first time as I write from their mouth.

I want to get back into doing this. More on that later this week. For now, I just wanted to report on a successful one day of NaNo. I even won a Word War. I still got it.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

4 Responses to “Write-Ins When You’re Not Doing NaNo”

  1. Vicky November 27, 2018 at 11:11 AM #

    Good work!! That’s the great thing about writing- go where it takes you 😀 that said, I’m not doing NaNo either, and next year I think I’d really like to psych myself up and do it!

    Like

    • Sam November 27, 2018 at 11:18 AM #

      It’s a great experience, I hope you do! I’ve loved the community and I hope to do it again soon. Happy reading!

      Like

  2. Emily Wrayburn November 28, 2018 at 12:35 AM #

    Yaaay! That’s a great feeling! I had it earlier in the year when I put my major project (which I was totally stuck on) aside and started exploring something new. Write-ins are kind of weird for me during November because my writing group originated during NaNo a few years ago and I’m basically the only person who doesn’t do it anymore…

    Like

    • Sam November 28, 2018 at 7:34 AM #

      It was odd not doing a traditional NaNo but still participating. I did enjoy the competitive atmosphere of the Word War! Sometimes I have to be reminded to just write and not overthink. Happy writing!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.