Writing Check In- August

6 Aug

One of my goals for this year was to write more. My husband had the suggestion of making a monthly feature to talk about my writing and how it’s going. It helps keep me honest(ish) and lets you all know when my masterpiece will be released to the world!

This was not a good month for writing and I had an idea it would play out that way. I had my Half IronMan at the end of July and the ramp-up to that was intense. But it’s over. I want to really focus again on writing. I got a little bit done on Friday, fixing the tone of a few scenes. My female lead was getting in a lot of screaming matches that made her a bit unlikeable. I think we’re on better fitting now.

I stopped before a major change I’m putting in. I realized my POV didn’t bounce back and forth very much through one section and that needed to change. It should be easy enough to implement, but I need to re-write a few scenes and switch the order of a few others. It will take some work and a chunk of dedicated time is the best way to go about it. I’m saving it for my next dedicated time.

When I was training, I put each of my workouts on my calendar. It let me move things around if needed and see where I had free time or busy days. I want to start doing that with writing now. I know what workouts I need to plan so I can plan my writing, too. I think it will be mostly after-work writing time and I’m OK with that. My husband has found plenty of ways to keep himself busy while I’m having ‘me’ time. We’ll just keep that moving forward.

I hope to have more progress to report next month and be closer to moving toward submission. I’m so excited to share this book with all of you and the rest of the world! It’s coming, I promise.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

One Response to “Writing Check In- August”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WWW Wednesday – August 14, 2019 – Sometimes Leelynn Reads - August 14, 2019

    […] Sam @ Taking on a World of Words is a gem for handling this weekly meme. You guys know the drill by now right? If you’ve just tuned in to my blog, here are the three questions we ask ourselves each Wednesday for our enjoyment: […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.