Challenge Update, September 2019

1 Oct

The new job and longer commute are giving me hope for getting through audiobooks in a timely manner when half marathon training is over. I’m trying to look on the bright side of having a longer commute. You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in September:

Writing and Selling the YA Novel // K.L. Going (3/5)
Beautiful Music // Michael Zadoorian (3/5)
The Ghost and Mrs. Muir // Josephine Leslie (3/5)
Becoming Madame Mao // Anchee Min (2/5)
Hillbilly Elegy // J.D. Vance (4/5)

This month was a bit lackluster after an amazing crop of books last month. Maybe I’m due for a more neutral month in October.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

9/12
Again, nothing new. It’s about time I start handpicking books to finish this one up. I’m in the middle of one now that will check off one of the remaining periods, but that still leaves me with two wide open. I think this will be a focus for October and I’ll see if I can wrap it up in November.

Goodreads Challenge

47/52
I’m still nine books ahead of schedule! This seems unreal but I’m loving it. I’ll have to consider a higher goal for next year, especially if I train as hard as I did this year. Though I’m not sure I could do that again. Maybe stay with 52? Thoughts?

Book of the Month

Nothing was really amazing this month but I’ll have to say Hillbilly Elegy was my favorite of the month. I’m looking forward to sharing my book club’s thoughts on this one because we’re from the region that Vance talks about and I have a feeling a lot of us will have ties to Kentucky as I know I do.

Added to my TBR

It’s hard for me to believe this list is down to 67! I’m so glad to see it finally shrink to a number that seems achievable in a year or two. I’m finally moving forward.

  • The Chocolate War // Robert Cormier. This was referenced so often in the writing books I read as an iconic YA book that I felt bad I hadn’t read it and had to add it to this list.
  • Wayward Son // Rainbow Rowell. I adored Carry On, more than I thought I would, so it was easy to add this one to my TBR. I’ve loved most of Rowell’s books so I’m excited to see what I think of a new one.

Personal Challenge

I’m gearing up again to track personal goals here. This is a great way to keep me accountable and to tell you about me outside the wide world of books.

  • Finish 70.3 Half Ironman: DONE!
  • Attend six weddings: The last two are in October and it’s looking good for both of them! I can’t believe we’re finally through wedding season!
  • Finish a weather blanket: I caught up but let myself fall off again while I work on some more baby blankets. I have some very fertile friends!
  • Write: I used my time off to finish another draft. I’ve been letting it sit and I hope to re-read the new ending and edit it soon. I’ll have a full post about this coming in the next week with some more insight.
  • See my friends more: I’ve been much better at this! I utilized my two weeks off between jobs to see a lot of people and I’ve been packing my weekends with friendly outings which have been super fun. I’m training alone a bit more often but I’m being more social outside of fitness. Wins and losses, right?

How are your challenges going so far? I hope you’re off to a good start If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge for 2019, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

4 Responses to “Challenge Update, September 2019”

  1. alisbooks October 2, 2019 at 11:16 AM #

    Great job with your challenges! I need to check in on my own progress. I know I’m killing my goodreads challenge, but I’m not sure about my progress on my other challenges.

    Like

    • Sam October 2, 2019 at 1:19 PM #

      I like doing this monthly to keep me in track. I know when it’s crunch time! Happy reading.

      Like

  2. BookerTalk October 3, 2019 at 5:59 PM #

    Wow a double digit TBR. I don’t think I’ve come across any blogger that has a TBR that low. How on earth do you manage that?

    Like

    • Sam October 3, 2019 at 9:48 PM #

      It’s been a real focus for the past two years! I’m really proud of it. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.