Challenge Update, August

1 Sep

I pushed really hard this month on making some challenge progress and I think it paid off! You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in August:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (3/5)
Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn (5/5)
Looking for Alaska by John Green (4/5)
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick (3/5)
The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien (4/5)
Beneath A Marble Sky by John Shors (3/5)
Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt (5/5)

(Yes, I’m behind on reviews. No, you can’t be mad at me.)

When Are You Reading? Challenge

10/13
This is my challenge to read a book from 13 different time periods. You can read about it here. My timeline tracks when my books take place and it’s pretty obvious I’ve been reading a lot of contemporary. However, I filled in two time periods this month! The Things They Carried filled out 1950-1969 and Beneath a Marble Sky was the 1600s. I’m in the middle of a book now that will fill 1800-1889 and I have a library hold for the 1400s. Look at me go!

Where Are You Reading? Challenge

14/50 (+16)
Hosted by Sheila. In the challenge to read a book from every state, I’m not focusing enough on American settings. My map shows some clusters, but I’m trying to spread it out.

I added three whole states! That’s a big jump for me in one month, which I’m pretty proud of. I added Alabama (Looking for Alaska), New Jersey (Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock), and South Carolina (Ella Minnow Pea). And on top of that, I added three foreign countries: Wales, UK (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children), Vietnam (The Things They Carried), and India (Beneath a Marble Sky).

In essence, each book I read had a different and new setting this month. Well, except Okay for Now, but that’s still really good! Excuse me while I pat myself on the back.

Goodreads Challenge

43/35

DONE! I’m so awesome.

How are your challenges going? I hope you’re not too far off pace just yet! If you want any more information about the challenges I’m doing or you’d like to join me, leave a comment and check out the links. There’s also information in my Challenges tab.

Also! Remember that the next Read Along will be beginning soon! To see what that’s about, check out this post and send me an email to sign up!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

2 Responses to “Challenge Update, August”

  1. readingcook September 1, 2014 at 1:02 PM #

    I love the variety of books that you choose.So glad you liked Okay for Now. I found that to be a gem of a book, and I enjoyed Ella Minnow Pea and Looking for Alaska as well. I am really intrigued by The Things They Carried and have put it on my to-read list. Read on!

    Like

    • Sam September 1, 2014 at 1:38 PM #

      I’m so glad my co-worker gave me ‘Okay for Now.’ I wasn’t expecting much, but I really loved it and finished it in three days. I’m looking forward to another variety this next month. It should be exciting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

