Friday 56, 12-December-2014

12 Dec

Welcome to the Last Day of Finals edition of The Friday 56 hosted by Freda on Freda’s Voice. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs.

Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

I’m currently reading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and I’m really enjoying it. It’s the right mix of creepy and scary and entertaining. Pretty much, it’s amazing. Here’s a quote from the 56th page:

Ignoring isn’t the same as ignorance, you have to work at it.

Wow. I think this really speaks to the story. Offred and her contemporaries ignored the violence and oppression happening around them because it wasn’t happening to them. They knew about it, just choose not to worry about it. By the time it was happening to them, there was nothing they could do. They were being ignored. She was trying to ignore the things she knew were happening around her and it took an effort to continue on as if nothing was wrong. Wow. Yay Margaret Atwood.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

16 Responses to “Friday 56, 12-December-2014”

  1. Cynthia December 12, 2014 at 10:29 AM #

    Great quote from an awesome book! One of my favorites for sure.

    Like

    • Sam December 12, 2014 at 11:08 AM #

      I can’t believe I haven’t read this one before! I’ve heard so many good things about it, too!

      Like

  2. TheSkepticalReader December 12, 2014 at 11:09 AM #

    You caught a nice one! 😉

    Like

    • Sam December 12, 2014 at 11:16 AM #

      Thanks! She has a lot of good sentences, but I thought this one spoke well to the whole story.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra Nachlinger December 12, 2014 at 12:15 PM #

    I haven’t read this book but I’ve heard about it for a long time. I’m afraid it would be depressing, and I would have to be in the right frame of mind to read it. I hope it’s a good story.
    My Friday post features THE TIGER QUEENS.

    Like

    • Sam December 23, 2014 at 10:29 AM #

      I do think I needed to be in the right frame of mind for it, but the book was incredible. I hope you can find a time to read it.
      I’m so sorry this response is delayed! You somehow got caught in my spam filter and I haven’t been very vigilant about cleaning it out!

      Like

  4. laurelrainsnow December 12, 2014 at 12:16 PM #

    I loved this book and read it twice, the second time a couple of years ago. Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “WINTER STREET”

    Like

    • Sam December 12, 2014 at 2:28 PM #

      It’s great to hear a book so highly praised! Reading something twice is no small feat. Enjoy your book! Looks like the perfect choice for the holidays.

      Like

  5. Book For Thought December 12, 2014 at 12:37 PM #

    Great quote! I read this book recently and I loved it! Hope you enjoy the rest of it. Here’s mine: The Small Fortune of Dorothea Q.

    Like

  6. Claudia {SparrowHawk} December 12, 2014 at 5:45 PM #

    The first thought that came to mind after reading your 56 was, “Enlighten me.” Ha ha! Am I being snarky? 😛 No but seriously, does the author elaborate on this statement, it’s a bold one!

    ​​​​Sparrow’s Friday 56

    Like

  7. blackmutts December 12, 2014 at 6:13 PM #

    This is such an amazing book! And so (eerily, depressingly) dead-on…

    Like

    • Sam December 14, 2014 at 8:40 AM #

      As long as it doesn’t become fully true! It is really creepy when she talks about the events leading up to the changes because I hear about them on the news so often. I’m afraid of when they could become reality.

      Like

      • blackmutts December 15, 2014 at 2:51 PM #

        Come to think of it, I happened to read it the year after 9/11, and it gave me goosebumps. Not to get too political (although it is hard not to discussing this or most of Atwood’s books!), the Bush administration was using the New York’s tragedy to push through a lot of laws that, honestly, I don’t think represented most New Yorker’s viewpoints, even after the attack. So perhaps the book was a little extra chilling for me, given that context!

        Like

      • Sam December 15, 2014 at 2:54 PM #

        I looked it up and this book was published pre-9/11, which makes your comments even more goosebump-worthy! Atwood seems to have a knack for knowing what little things will creep us out the most.
        I find it interesting how books can speak to us in different ways depending on when we read them. Thanks for sharing!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. fredamans December 13, 2014 at 5:45 PM #

    This is a classic I want to read because I haven’t already.
    Happy weekend!

    Like

    • Sam December 14, 2014 at 8:40 AM #

      I felt the same way and my book club spurred it on by choosing the title. I’m so glad they did.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.