Archive | 11:04 AM

Insurgent Movie- Please just make one more.

23 Jun
Poster image via IMDb.com

Poster image via IMDb.com

I will be honest here and say I avoided seeing this movie. I know it came out three months ago, but I was disappointed with the previews and knew from those how far from the book the screenwriters had deviated. So I didn’t want to see it. But then last week I wanted to see a movie and this was the only thing that looked remotely interesting and it was only $3 at the second-run theater. So I saw it. And while I was disappointed with how much changed, I still enjoyed it. But yet again, the ending. I’ll get to it.

Things I Thought Were Awesome

Set design. Yes, the sweeping shots of post-apocalyptic Chicago were awesome, but the amount of detail the set designers paid to Amity and the Factionless was incredible. Especially the Factionless and the inside of Evelyn’s apartment. It gave them the appearance of being organized which helped the moviegoer reorganize his thoughts about the group.

Jerk Factionless guy. He gave the group a voice without it seeming disjointed and I thought he was a really good add. Plus the train fight scene was pretty intense.

Changes That Didn’t Really Bother Me

The box. The previews made me want to hate whatever was in the box, but in the end, I think it was a good way to simplify the plot and give a good reason for Jeanine.

Downplaying Marcus. In the book, Marcus was right out annoying and any issue he had with Four was well downplayed. I thought Four had enough to deal with when his mother showed up and he didn’t need his pestering father around as well.

Tris’s fear of guns. In the book, she was so squeamish around guns because of what she’d done to Will. It was almost annoying. I understood her reaction, but I felt the nightmares she had in the movie were a better manifestation and were more in line with her character because she should still do anything necessary to survive.

 

Things That Were Taken Out and I’m Still Wondering Why

Tris’s execution. In the book, it was very deliberate and very public. Her death was Jeanine’s way of showing she had won. Tris’s death in the movie was very small and private and Jeanine didn’t seem to think too much of it at all. It didn’t have the right feel to it.

Knowing Tris was second generation. I loved that we never found out how Jeanine knew this. It made me like Jeanine. But in the movie, we don’t know what this means and we don’t hear it at all. What gives?

The amount of Divergent in Factionless. It makes sense that so many of the Factionless are Divergent. They don’t fit in at any one place, so they’re Factionless. It made them stronger to me, but this small fact seems to have been left out.

Things That Changed Too Much

The Ending. I walked out mad because of this. Instead of eight or so people knowing what’s going on and leaving the wall, we’ve got five thousand on our hands. What are the experiment leaders going to do with this amount of people in the next movie? How can the plot even be remotely similar? I’m really confused at the enormity of this change and what the writers were thinking. It was way too much.

Casting for Evelyn. She looked 32 and Four looks 27. There’s too much of an age discrepancy here and it was weird.

Reader, I’m dying to know what you think. What did you think of the Insurgent movie? Did it change the book too much for you to enjoy? Do you think Allegiant will be made into two films? Was there anything else you would add to my lists?

Until next time, write on.