Archive | 10:19 AM

Challenge Update, March 2016

5 Apr

I keep reminding myself I only have one month left of this life-absorbing class. I’ll be done at the end of April but back at it in early May. I’m praying my next class leaves me with more time for blogging. I miss blogging and reading for my challenges. You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in March:

Black Duck // Janet Taylor Lisle
Slaughterhouse-Five // Kurt Vonnegut
Brooklyn // Colm Toibin

I’m still working through a few long ones that I hope to see populate here soon. I said it last month, but I’ll say it again. I’m hopeful next month looks a bit better.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

7/12
This is my challenge to read a book from 13 different time periods. You can read about it hereBrooklyn took care of 1940-1959 for me which is most welcome. I’m surprised I hadn’t filled it already because so many WWII books can go there. I could have chosen Slaughterhouse-Five to fill it, even. Oh well, I liked Brooklyn more.

Goodreads Challenge

11/45
It feels good to be on track with this one! I’ve been worrying about how long I’m taking to get through some titles but seeing ‘You’re on track!’ makes me feel great. I hope to keep this pace (3-4 books per month) going for the rest of the year, it shouldn’t be too hard.

Book of the Month

Book image via Goodreads.com

Book image via Goodreads.com

It’s going to be Brooklyn this month. As much as the ending frustrated me, Eilis was a great character and I really really loved her story. I’m tempted to read more of Toibin’s work and I’m blown away at his ability to write in a woman’s voice.

Added to my TBR

Despite some adds for book clubs, I’m at 138 at the end of the month, down one from last month. I’ve added two worth mentioning here.

  • SuperFreakonomics by Steven Levitt. I loved the first one and just found out there’s a second. Woo!
  • The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd. This is the July book for my book club. We’re planned out all the way until then so I hope to not add much more for a while.

How are your challenges going? I hope you’re killing it. If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!