Archive | 10:36 AM

‘Game of Thrones’ Season 1

25 Aug
Image via Access Hollywood

Image via Access Hollywood

So yes, I caved. I read the first two books of the ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ series but then I couldn’t do it anymore. They were too long for me and enough out of my genre that I couldn’t keep my interest held the whole time. I caved and watched Season 1. I watched the whole thing with my husband in about a week. Yes, it’s safe to say I’m impressed.

Things I Thought Were Awesome

How close this was to the books. I was really shocked that it was so similar. I kept waiting for something obvious to have changed, but there wasn’t anything. I’m glad Martin insisted on waiting until his books could be done as a TV series, they did them justice.

Dothraki language. I watched the extra features on the DVD that went deeper into this. The language creation and how the actors learned to speak it fascinates me. I was a Spanish language major in school so I find linguistics fascinating. I have so much respect for the man who put it together. Kudos.

Changes That Didn’t Really Bother Me

Less focus on the maesters and septas. While some of these characters serve important roles, to be sure, I felt that there was too much detail placed on them in the books. Maybe it’s coming in future installments, but I got them all mixed up in the book and found that focusing less on them (especially those who didn’t make it, cough) was better for me.

Cover image via Goodreads.com

Cover image via Goodreads.com

Things That Were Taken Out and I’m Still Wondering Why

Tyrion in the battles. Maybe I’m wrong, but I thought Tyrion was more involved in the battles with Tywin toward the end. I wanted to see him fight on his pony but had to settle for him being knocked unconscious. I remember him being very involved in battles in the second book/season so maybe they’re running together in my mind.

 

Things That Changed Too Much

 

All the extra sex. It was a bit too much for me. It seems obvious this was to make it more ‘appealing’ on TV, but the books were risqué enough without adding more. There was too much focus on the whore houses in my opinion.

I’ve already started Season 2. I’m really enjoying this now. Is there any dissenting opinion? Do you all like the TV adaptation of A Game of Thrones?

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!