Archive | 1:41 AM

WWW Wednesday, 31-August-2016

31 Aug

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived here on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Note: For users of Blogspot blogs, I’m unable to comment on your posts as a WordPress blogger unless you’ve enabled Name/URL comments. This is a known WordPress/Blogspot issue. Please consider enabling this to participate more fully in the community.


BoySnowCurrently reading: I read very little of In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson. I’m hoping I can find a little time to read it this week, but it’s really not looking good for me. I knew this one would be a long, slow read, but I didn’t think it would take this long.
I’ve made decent progress in World Without End by Ken Follett. It’s a long book to be sure, but I’ve been going on some long runs and getting through good chunks of it on each one. It will be a while, but I’ll make it through.
I just started Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi so I can’t say too certainly what I think of it so far. I’m hoping to finish this one quickly but we’ll see what happens.

OnePersonRecently finished: I made it through In One Person by John Irving a day faster than I thought I would! I finished it Saturday afternoon and I was so excited. It was a good read with some small disappointments toward the end. It had all the classic John Irving elements to it that I love so I can’t say I’m too upset with it. My book club met to talk about it on Monday so I’ll have a reflection up soon. My book review went up on Monday.

Henrietta LacksReading Next: It will be another book club book I suspect. We’re picking up The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot for our next selection. This book caught my eye when I was working at a textbook store in college and had to rent it to the entire freshman class of the university across town. I thought it had been out forever because of that but it was probably the year after it was published, in 2011, that this happened. I’m excited to finally see what it’s about!


Leave a comment with your link and a comment (if you’re so inclined). Take a look at the other participant links in the comments and look at what others are reading.

Have any opinions on these choices?

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!