Last Lines- The Answers!

30 Mar

Last week, I challenged you all to a last-lines test to see if you could guess the book by the last line. I was really excited that a few of you participated and thanks to Kourtni, Deanna, and Faith for providing answers for five of the ten! I’ve copied them below if you want to give it one last look-over before you see the answers below for the ones no one has guessed yet.

  1. He likes the thought of ships moving over the water, toward another world just out of sight.
  2. There are much worse games to play.
  3. And I finally began like this: When I stepped into the bright sunlight from the darkness of the movie house, I had only two things on my mind: Paul Newman and a ride home…
  4. It was not until they had examined the rings that they recognized who it was.
  5. He was soon borne away by the waves, and lost in darkness and distance.
  6. All was well.
  7. Being tired isn’t the same as being rich, but most times it’s close enough.
  8. Isn’t this a great country altogether? ‘Tis.
  9. For now, he starts to read.
  10. She opened the door wide and let him into her life again. (NOTE: Not technically the last in the series)

And now, the answers!

  1. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. This one was a hard one to start off with! I thought if you knew the subplot of the Station Eleven comic, someone might get it, but oh well.
  2. Kourtni knew it was The Hunger Games: Mockingjay.
  3. Deanna knew it was The Outsiders
  4. Faith knew it was The Picture of Dorian Gray
  5. Faith knew it was Frankenstein
  6. Kourtni knew it was Harry Potter: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  7. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk. I was hoping this might be iconic for someone. It was OK for me but I was grasping at straws, haha.
  8. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt. If you know that his second memoir is titled ‘Tis, this becomes slightly easier.
  9. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri. If you know the plot, this makes sense. This is mostly me loving this book.
  10. The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson. Like I said, not technically the last book in the Millennium series because of the sequel by another author, but still the final in the original trilogy. I was hoping my clue might help.

Thank you again to those who participated. This was fun, I might have to do it with first lines next time I have a reading slump.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

6 Responses to “Last Lines- The Answers!”

  1. MarinaSofia March 30, 2017 at 11:02 AM #

    Oooh, tough ones! I think Dorian Gray and Frankenstein might be the only two I could guess at.

    Like

    • Sam March 30, 2017 at 5:04 PM #

      I was hoping they weren’t that bad but I might have picked some obscure ones. It was limited to books I own haha.

      Like

  2. ravenclawreadit March 30, 2017 at 12:28 PM #

    What a fun game! I’m only coming in on this post by if you ever do something like this again I’d love to play. Brilliant idea!

    Like

    • Sam March 30, 2017 at 5:08 PM #

      Awesome! I’m thinking of doing first lines at some point, too. Or maybe using the library for a more diverse group of last lines haha. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads March 30, 2017 at 10:20 PM #

    This was fun! The only one that I had read but didn’t know recognize was The Outsiders. But I read that almost a decade ago, so that probably explains that, haha.

    Like

    • Sam March 31, 2017 at 9:30 AM #

      Thanks for jumping in! I had a lot of fun doing this, it may have to happen again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.