Archive | 10:11 AM

5 Spooky Reads for October

22 Oct

I’m a little short on book reviews at the moment so I thought it would be a good time to recommend a few spooky falls reads for anyone looking to pick up a book to enjoy before Halloween! These are ones I’ve enjoyed over the past few years.

  1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. A classic with a spooky setting and dramatic characters. Perfect for those not looking to be scared but wanting a strong fall theme.
  2. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. Not exactly scary, but very unsettling. A great story about a family gone wrong and how you live with tragedy.
  3. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. Recensy bias here, but a great thriller with a spooky overtone and a setting in late fall. Great for a one-day binge.
  4. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. Again with the queen of ghost stories. This one wasn’t flat-out scary but very creepy. Enough so that I screamed when my husband touched my shoulder while I was reading it. I thought he was a ghost.
  5. Bird Box by Josh Malerman. Scary, creepy, thrilling, altogether awesome. I’d recommend this one any time of year but now, it’s just what you need to go with your cider and mini-Snickers.

I hope you’re all enjoying some spooky fall reads! Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!