Off Topic Thursday: Halloween

25 Oct

Welcome to this holiday edition of Off-Topic Thursday. It seemed appropriate to talk about one of my favorite holidays with it’s own post.

My husband is the reason I love Halloween. When we went to college in different states, he would always visit me for Halloween. We’d wear costumes and go to a party and it was when he met a lot of my friends. When we got older, we decided we needed to throw Halloween parties to celebrate every year. And we decided we needed to make our own costumes. Because those are always better.

This was the first time I really rocked it. It involved scissors and fabric paint. A bit of work, but really not too bad. Last year, we did three costumes.

This was the simple one. It was punny and for a house party at our friend’s place. I had to eat at Taco Bell a few times that week and ask politely for extra (clean) papers, but it still wasn’t bad to make.

This was for a 10K run. It was my favorite. A lot of fabric paint and some scissors for this one. The worst part was the face paint. I don’t like face paint at all and I’ve vowed to not use it again. Which also includes my ‘no wigs’ rule.

This one was my other favorite. We had our two real turtles ‘dressed’ as the other two TMNT. (We printed out pictures and taped them on their tanks.) The shells on the back and the plates on the front were fun to do and I had a blast fabric painting in our kitchen.

My husband outdid me this year. I don’t have a good picture yet but it’s coming. Our party is this weekend and he’s been working on this costume for ten months. It does not disappoint. We’re going to have to come up with something really epic for 2019. Keep an eye on my Instagram for the bit update.

Until next time, spooky on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

7 Responses to “Off Topic Thursday: Halloween”

  1. thebibliophagist90 October 25, 2018 at 10:24 AM #

    Those are great costumes! It’s fun to make your own?

    Like

    • Sam October 25, 2018 at 10:36 AM #

      I love making my own. My husband was asked this year where he got his and was able to boast about making it himself. I can’t wait to show pictures.

      Like

  2. Mani October 25, 2018 at 4:55 PM #

    Loving the handmade costumes!!!

    Like

    • Sam October 25, 2018 at 5:07 PM #

      Thanks, we have a lot of fun with it. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Whimsically Meghan October 25, 2018 at 5:02 PM #

    Ah! This is adorable! I love that you guys hand make your own costumes; that is amazing and super original! 😀

    Like

    • Sam October 25, 2018 at 5:08 PM #

      Thanks! We love to surprise people at our party. Happy Halloween!

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Liebster Award (2) – LIZ SLAY - October 25, 2018

    […] Taking On a World of Words […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.