Archive | 10:42 AM

2020 Reading Goals

16 Jan

With the new year here, it’s time to start thinking about bookish goals for 2020. I’ve kept it simple over the past few years and that’s worked best for me. It allows me to have fun with my book clubs and pick a few books that I’m interested in and want to read at the same time. Simple is usually better, right?

Goal: Complete the 2020 When Are You Reading? Challenge

I’d be a terrible challenge host if I didn’t participate in my own challenge, wouldn’t I? I host this challenge annually and I love it. It’s a 12-book challenge to read one book in each of 12 time periods. You can read more about it here. I adore this challenge because it involves one of my favorite genres: historical fiction. It pushes me to find fiction from less popular time periods and exposes me to times I don’t know as much about.

Goal: Read 55 books.

The ever-present Goodreads goal. I like this one for its simplicity. It’s just a number, so read that many books. Easy enough. But when I get bogged down in long books or I’m five off with two weeks to go, it’s a lot harder than it sounds. You can check my progress here. It’s always a good time.

I don’t have a ton of personal goals this year. My biggest one is completing Triational Age Group National Championships in August, but I don’t have a specific time goal in mind. I’m just excited to go and participate and maybe see some big names that I look up to. That will be my focus race this year and I’m looking forward to it!

Do you have any reading or personal goals for 2020? If you’re looking for something to push yourself, consider giving my challenge  a try.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!