Archive | 9:30 AM

Friday Book Memes, 20-March-2015

20 Mar

Welcome to the second Friday the 13th edition of Book Blogger Hop, Book Beginnings and The Friday 56 hosted by Coffee Addicted WriterRose City Reader and Freda on Freda’s Voice. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs.

Book Blogger Hop

This is my first Book Blogger Hop and I plan to make this a recurring thing (as long as I like the questions!). This week’s question is,

Do you read more on a rainy day or on a gorgeous day so you can be outside?

Definitely on a rainy day. On a nice day, I’m more likely to go for a run or on a bike ride, but on a rainy day I’m stuck inside and curling up with a good book sounds like a great option. Though, if it’s the day after a bike ride or a run I love reading by the pool rather than pushing myself too far.


 

Sadly, I have yet again not picked up a new book. So I will turn to my shelf and this week I’ve decided to feature The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. My work book club read this last year and we liked the story a lot even if the main character was hard to like.

BB.Button

Book Beginnings is all about that very important opening sentence (or two) that us writers are always worrying about!

For eight years I dreamed of fire. Trees ignited as I passed them; oceans burned. The sugary smoke settled in my hair as I slept, the scent like a cloud left on my pillow as I rose.

Knowing the ending, this is such a great way to start the book. If you don’t know the ending, it might seem strange or give you the impression this book is going to be very different than it is, but I think it’s a good way to start. I don’t want to spoil anything because this is a great read, but the fire plays a huge role in the ending when the truth about the past is finally revealed.


 

Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

Page 56 is a bit dull in this book, but we get a really good characterization of Elizabeth.

Her touch, too, was different; the thorough way she cleaned my hands, witout the heavy, silent burden in the actions of all my other foster mothers. I didn’t trust it.

This is great because it gives us two things; a characterization of how caring Elizabeth is of her new foster daughter and how untrusting Victoria is. Victoria is used to foster mothers who have her for the money and want to spend as little time with her as possible. Elizabeth is loving and wants a child to treat with kindness. The two clash heads if you couldn’t tell from this snippet!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!