Archive | 11:50 AM

Harry Potter Lessons: Redemption

31 Mar

This is the second of posts in a series I’m doing called ‘Harry Potter Lessons’ where I’m going to write about what being a Harry Potter Fangirl has taught me. These are much more personal than my average posts but I promise that once my reading slump ends, I’ll be back to book reviews and memes. In the mean time, I hope you enjoy these.

Image from TheMarySue

Image from TheMarySue

My first post talked about what I see as the overall theme of the books. Now I want to concentrate on specific lessons that they taught me. The first one is redemption. There are several characters who recognize that their actions were wrong and work to correct the error in their ways. The most public of these is Draco Malfoy. We see int he sixth book how Draco is not inherently evil as we’d previously been led to believe. After seeing his father sent to jail and being asked to step up and fill his shoes, Draco hesitates. Seeing his father go to jail for something awakens some sense in him and he begins to repent for what he’s done. In the end, his redemption is cowardly as he runs away rather than fight, but he seeks redemption ultimately. It’s never too late to change your ways.

Image via HelloGiggles

Image via HelloGiggles

The other major character example is Sirius Black. He was burned off his family tree for running away from home to stay with James Potter because he couldn’t stay at home with his mother. (Andromeda Black was also burned off the tree for marrying Ted Tonks, a Muggle born.) She was obsessed with the Black family purity which didn’t interest or concern Sirius. He preferred to be with the Potters, who were also purebloods but less concerned with blood status. Sirius was able to carve his own path apart from his family and even though he was born into a family that on the whole followed Voldemort. Sirius was able to get himself out of the situation early but deciding to break from his family means he ended up fighting his family and was ultimately killed by his own cousin. An unfortunate circumstance of being a blood-traitor.

Image via @xhespercy

Image via @xhespercy

Another character who redeems himself is Percy Weasley. Percy is the only unlikable Weasley in a family of strong, good-hearted pureblooded wizards. He places his loyalty outside of his family with his job at the Ministry which seems like a good idea at the time. As the Ministry becomes more and more corrupted, Percy seemingly goes along with it. But at the last minute, he realizes that the organization in which he placed his trust has become corrupted and his family opens him back with open arms. Like Draco, he’d been swept up in something that seemed right at the time but later realized wasn’t morally correct.

There are so many things I’ve learned from Harry Potter, I’m only scratching the surface. What have you learned from this series? Who else redeemed themselves? It’s my birthday so leave me some comment love!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!