Archive | 11:13 AM

Allergic to the Letter E Challenge

7 Jul

Most of us know that E is the most common letter in the English language. In that first sentence, I used it 5 times. When I read he book Ella Minnow Pea, author Mark Dunn wasn’t brave enough to take E out of the language. But now I must face this daunting task.

I was challenged by Kyrosmagica to write a whole paragraph without using the letter E. I was supposed to do this in 24 hours, but as I was in my car on the way to a wedding seven hours away, I’ve failed that part. Still! I want to participate. Here are the rules:

  1. Write a whole paragraph (A WHOLE PARAGRAPH??) without any words containing the letter “e” (still easy?)
  2. By reading this, you are already signed up.
  3. Challenge at least five bloggers to do the challenge. They must do it within 24 hours or it is considered as failure.
  4. If you fail or pass, suffer in the Page of Lame.
  5. If you win, wallow in the Page of Fame.

I’m going to pass on challenging anyone else so I’m really earning my place on the Page of Lame in this one. But here goes! I’ve got to pick some names with no Es in them. Hm.

 

John and Matt go for a walk.

“Hi John,” says Matt with a grin

“Hi, Matt. Glad you can join in this walk.” John is happy to visit his pal.

“I’m glad, too. Want to walk past a park?”

Walking down a road, both pass a patch of grass. “Want to play catch?” Both boys brought mitts and can play. John throws hard but Matt has a good catch. Matt throws too hard and can’t find his ball in a patch of shrubs. John is guilty and wants to cry but Matt finds a gray ball.

“This will work for us,” says Matt. “I’m sorry about your ball.”

“It’s okay,” John says. “Gray is a good color for a ball.”

Matt and John play until shadows grow long and walk back hand in hand.

 

Yay! It’s not a paragraph, but a short story is good, too.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!