Archive | 11:00 AM

The Blogger Recognition Award

21 Jul

I’m honored to announce that last month I was nominated by Kay the Desert Bibliophile for the Blogger Recognition Award! It’s been a while since I received the award and I’m very humbled. Thank, Kay!

This award has four easy steps:

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
    Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

How my blog was born. I used to watch a lot of movies. I worked a job with weird hours and I was tired and alone a lot of the time. I decided to join a book club when I switched to my next job and had a more regular schedule. It was a reward for myself for having gotten the new job. I became addicted to book clubs and book discussions. I wanted to talk about all the books I was reading all the time, but there was no one person reading all the same books. So, I wanted to put my thoughts online and find one or two people who’d read each book. (That’s all of you.) I started using it to keep myself accountable for writing as well and it’s snowballed from there.

Blogging advice. Get a schedule. I’ve messed around with schedules for a while and found M-Th works for me. I stay accountable for three posts a week plus the WWW Wednesday meme and it keeps me up to date without being too much pressure. It’s a good balance. My second piece of advice would be to stop following blogs that make you mad. I’ve followed and unfollowed a lot of blogs in my past (almost) two years. If someone doesn’t like a book I do, oh well. But if someone’s insulting my intelligence or saying something I’m doing is dumb or their reviews are too much like summaries for me, UNFOLLOW. And I don’t feel bad about it.

Recognition

Thank you again to Kay the Desert Bibliophile for nominating me. And thanks also to Eve from Eve of Night for putting this award together. Here are my nominees:

  1. Away in Neverland
  2. M.E. Kinkade
  3. Cat Lumb
  4. My Head is Full of Books
  5. It’s All About Books
  6. Jen’s Pen Den
  7. As I Lay Reading
  8. Quenching the Quill
  9. Brown Girl Reading
  10. A Kernel of Nonsense
  11. My Soul Called Life
  12. mrsmamf
  13. The Skeptical Reader
  14. Book Club Babe
  15. Pointe Taken

Thank you all for blogging and I hope you continue.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!