Announcing the 2016 When Are You Reading? Challenge

28 Dec

when are you reading 2016 final

If you’re picking out your 2016 reading challenges, add this to your list! I’m hosting the 3rd annual When Are You Reading? Challenge! It’s a short challenge, only 12 books, which challenges you to read books set or published in different time periods. Those periods are:

  • Pre 1500
  • 1500-1599
  • 1600-1699
  • 1700-1799
  • 1800-1899
  • 1900-1919
  • 1920-1939
  • 1940-1959
  • 1960-1979
  • 1980-1999
  • 2000-Present
  • The Future

At only one book a month, this one has always been fast and fun. Often I find the books I was going to read anyway fit into the time periods. There are very few ‘rules’ associated with the challenge. I put it in quotations because you’re free to do what you want with it.

‘Rules’

  • Determination of what year a book belongs in is the decision of the participant. On the whole, choose a year where the largest part of the action occurs or the most important event.
  • I will compile a list of those participating on this page but you must link back to this page to be added to the list so that other participants can find us!

It works best if you dedicate a page or post to tracking your books so I can link to it. I had four participants last year and I’m hoping to up that again this year.

If  you’re interested, let me know and grab the graphic my fabulous husband designed (isn’t he great?!) to let others know you’re participating. I can’t wait for you to join!

Pages for the 2016 challenge will be up soon. Check back for updates and further announcements.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

7 Responses to “Announcing the 2016 When Are You Reading? Challenge”

  1. curiousdaisy December 28, 2015 at 11:20 AM #

    sounds like a lot of fun…but I’ll have a lot going on next year. Good luck to those participating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam December 28, 2015 at 11:44 AM #

      Thanks for the encouragement. Happy reading!

      Like

  2. readersandmore December 28, 2015 at 5:06 PM #

    This is a great challenge! Best of luck Sam 🙂

    Like

    • Sam December 28, 2015 at 6:30 PM #

      Thanks! Let me know if you consider joining.

      Liked by 1 person

      • readersandmore December 28, 2015 at 9:45 PM #

        You’re welcome. It doesn’t seem like my kind of reading challenge. Thanks though 🙂

        Like

  3. authorswilliams December 28, 2015 at 7:00 PM #

    OK I’m interested this sounds really fun. 😉

    Like

    • Sam December 28, 2015 at 7:06 PM #

      Awesome! If you create a page or post for it, link to the challenge page (you can find it in my site) and I’ll link to it there. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.