Challenge Update, November 2016

1 Dec

This month was ridiculous when it comes to finishing books. Considering I took my final and did NaNoWriMo this month, I wasn’t counting on much progress. I’m ecstatic about it, don’t get me wrong. I wonder if I can keep this up? You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in November:

Stiff // Mary Roach
The Man Who Loved Cat Dancing // Marilyn Durham
In the Garden of Beasts // Erik Larson
Z // Therese Anne Fowler
The Lost Daughter // Elena Ferrante
The Tempest // William Shakespeare
Only the Paranoid Survive // Andrew S. Grove

I can’t remember the last time I read seven books in a month! This is such a good feeling. I’m a bit overwhelmed by the number of reviews I owe you all! I’ll be hard at work on those this weekend.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

12/12
This is my challenge to read a book from 12 different time periods. You can read about it here. And I finished! I’m cutting it down to the wire a bit this year but The Tempest will be my 1600s book. I may continue to do Shakespeares for this in years to come, the 1600s can be hard!

Goodreads Challenge

49/45
Woo hoo! Finishing it off like it’s nothing, haha. I’ll probably get to 52 or so by the end of December. I’m going to try to put more time into writing while I can so books might take a bit of a back seat.

stiffBook of the Month

Stiff was really good. The audiobook was wonderfully narrated as well but the writing took my breath away. I wasn’t expecting to be so interested in dead bodies! It was a great surprise and a smash hit at book club (more on that to come in a few weeks!).

Added to my TBR

I added three this month which I’m not happy about, but I think I’ll survive. I’m down one overall with 123 total books. I’m going to be missing my book club meetings for a while so this might really start to drop!

  • A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. This may be premature because I haven’t read A Gathering of Shadows yet but I’m going to assume I’ll want to read this one!
  • Once Upon a River by Bonnie Jo Campbell. A book club selection for January. I’ll probably start it next but I do hope to speed through it and get some other books read over the holidays!
  • South of Broad by Pat Conroy. Another book club pick. This one is a clunker so I’m hoping it sweeps me along and I can finish it fast.

How are your challenges going? I hope you’re killing it. If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge, it’s fun! I’ll do it again in 2017 to be sure.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

8 Responses to “Challenge Update, November 2016”

  1. Cathy746books December 1, 2016 at 12:04 PM #

    12 books in a month is fab going! Congrats!

    Like

    • Sam December 1, 2016 at 5:16 PM #

      Thanks! It was only seven this month, though. If I ever got to 12 I’d be over the moon. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bevbaird December 1, 2016 at 1:09 PM #

    Wonderful progress! I’ve tried different challenges over the years and many I complete, but I’ve never done a summary each month as you have. Will have to try that next year. Will be adding a few books to my TBR pile.

    Like

    • Sam December 1, 2016 at 5:17 PM #

      Awesome! I hope you enjoy some of these as well. Happy reading!

      Like

  3. Loreen December 1, 2016 at 1:47 PM #

    I did really well on my challenges this month 4 books for Book Riots Read Harder and 3 for the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge. Here’s a link to my wrap-up: https://coffeeandcatsblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/01/november-wrap-up/

    Like

    • Sam December 1, 2016 at 5:18 PM #

      Nice! I should really read my own books, too! I’m so bad at that, haha. Happy reading!

      Like

  4. Happily Ever After December 14, 2016 at 9:30 PM #

    I’m really looking forward to A Gathering of Shadows. I’ve seen so many mentions about A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab that I have to start this series. It sounds fabulous.

    Like

    • Sam December 15, 2016 at 6:36 AM #

      Now that the third one is titled, I feel so behind! I’ve got to get on that one soon. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.