Bookstore Destinations for Travelers

19 Jan

I’ve got a couple great trips looming ahead of me this year and I’m really excited to for two staples of my travels: beautiful churches and books. Every time I travel over the weekend, I try to go to a local church (preferably the cathedral) and see the architecture of a different part of the country. Northern Michigan versus Arizona versus Florida, etc. I love to compare them and see beautiful buildings. The other part of my trips is going to bookstores. I love local and usually used bookstores. They reflect a great character of the area and often have tons of people excited to talk about books with you.

It seems I’m not the only person who does this. My friend Sue sent me an article before Christmas that shares some favorites of author Ann Patchett (see book review for Truth and Beauty). If you have some travels planned for this summer, take a look at this list for some suggestions and things to fill your itinerary. It’s always a welcome add to a trip.

This may be a bit early (except for those of you in Australia), but happy travels for this year! Bring a good book with you and see if you can find another one along the way.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

4 Responses to “Bookstore Destinations for Travelers”

  1. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer January 22, 2017 at 11:52 AM #

    I love going to bookstores too when I’m on vacation. Happy travels!

    Like

    • Sam January 22, 2017 at 2:07 PM #

      Thanks! I love reading a book that also reminds me of a vacation. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ed A. Murray March 15, 2017 at 11:53 AM #

    There are several great bookstores in northern Michigan. Thanks for this little article — I love checking out new bookstores on the road!

    Like

    • Sam March 15, 2017 at 5:42 PM #

      Thanks for stopping by! I have a few trips this summer and I hope to use the time to check out places in other parts of the country, too. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.