Do You Read Seasonally?

18 Apr

Spring has finally arrived here in Michigan! We slept with the windows open and were awakened by a bird in the tree outside. It was cooler inside than outside and there were flowers blooming downtown. It got me thinking about the big tome I’m lugging around and wondering, “Is this a winter book?”

Honestly, I’ve never succumbed to ‘beach reads.’ I took a biography of Teddy Roosevelt on my honeymoon to Mexico which garnered a few weird looks from the eight women reading 50 Shades of Grey or Gone Girl. I don’t read ‘Christmas books’ and if I do, it’s usually in the middle of the summer. I’m terrible at timing up my reading. I’ll read what I want when I want to!

The biggest exception to this is my book clubs. A few of them time up our books to correspond with certain times of year or holidays. In those cases, I feel so on top of things I might be glowing. Though it’s none of my own doing, I still love how it feels. But not enough to do it myself.

Am I alone out here? On WWW Wednesday, I see so many people with seasonally appropriate books that I feel inadequate. Anyone else feeling this? How do you manage to read seasonally appropriate books if you do so? Am I really missing out?
Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

17 Responses to “Do You Read Seasonally?”

  1. Zuky the BookBum April 18, 2017 at 11:00 AM #

    I have bought a couple of Christmas thrillers but I didn’t read them last winter, so I’m going to try and attempt it this year, but I tend not to read seasonally. Like you, I took Helter Skelter on holiday with me last year when most others around me were reading things like Girl on the Train haha. I just read what I want, when I want to be honest!

    Like

    • Sam April 18, 2017 at 11:26 AM #

      I hate the idea of missing a seasonal window for a book and needing to wait a year to read it haha. I just read what I like lol. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ares . Three April 18, 2017 at 11:02 AM #

    I don’t know about reading seasonally, but now that I think about it, my current read “The Stand” by Stephen King, is not exactly a sit on the beach and have a picnic type of read.

    Like

    • Sam April 18, 2017 at 11:28 AM #

      Is anything by Stephen King good for a beach? lol. Enjoy your nonconventional book in the sand. Happy reading!

      Like

  3. deannalcooley April 18, 2017 at 11:03 AM #

    I feel you about bringing large seemingly inappropriate books to the beach. I am also that person. In one of the book groups, I’m in people are trying to pick “spring reads” and I just don’t believe that there are books for seasons. Except for books that are about Christmas or specific Holidays but even those don’t have to be read when they are set.

    Like

    • Sam April 18, 2017 at 11:29 AM #

      I don’t read a lot of Christmas books in general and I’m wondering if I avoid seasonal books because I read so sporadically haha. Have fun with your book club and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads April 18, 2017 at 11:49 AM #

    I always *try* to read seasonal books, but I usually end up failing, haha. My time management skills are horrible so I tend to put off reading certain books until it’s the “right” time of the year, but then I end up having review copies or library books that I have to prioritize and then don’t end up getting to the seasonal reads.

    Like

    • Sam April 18, 2017 at 6:33 PM #

      I know I’d fall into the same trap lol. My book club tends to dictate what I read so when it’s seasonal, I enjoy it but I try not to force my other reads to fit around it. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. alilovesbooks April 18, 2017 at 1:24 PM #

    I seem to get most of my books from NetGalley at the moment so to an extent I probably do read seasonally although often pre seasonally (Christmas books in Summer or Autumn are a regular occurrence) based on what’s being published. It is nice sometimes to read a book that puts you in the mood for the time of year but I do like to mix it up a bit.

    Like

    • Sam April 18, 2017 at 6:34 PM #

      So you’re pre-seasonal, like the Christmas in July shoppers haha. Whatever works! Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The Book Cover Judge April 20, 2017 at 2:15 PM #

    I don’t think I have ever intentionally read seasonally. My mom and I had this discussion a few months back. I think if I were to, it would be completely happenstance. The only time I intend to read seasonally is a scary/horror book during October — and even that I don’t actually do, haha!

    Like

    • Sam April 20, 2017 at 2:21 PM #

      My book clubs usually manage a spooky read around Halloween. There’s no way I could do it without them haha. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Charlie @ Girl of 1000 Wonders April 20, 2017 at 11:01 PM #

    I don’t even know what is considered seasonal books besides Christmas reads, which I do indulge in (but always a little too late!). A couple years ago I decided I wanted to do thematic reading and reviewing by genre, and I did select thrillers/suspense/crime for October and diverse reads (one was a Biblical read) in November. I read romance year-round, so I guess at some point I hit the season?

    Like

    • Sam April 21, 2017 at 7:41 AM #

      I’ve never understood beach reads either. Isn’t any book read at the beach a beach read? Haha. Happy reading!

      Like

  8. siderealday April 21, 2017 at 4:00 PM #

    I never read seasonally appropriate books. I’ve tried – The Accident Season for Halloween – but it never seems to line up. Honestly, I think it’s more important to be enthusiastic about what I’m reading and I can never seem to muster excitement for ‘seasonal’ reads.

    Like

    • Sam April 21, 2017 at 5:49 PM #

      At least you tried haha. I’m terrible at this. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.