Archive | 10:54 AM

Challenge Update, January 2020

3 Feb

I’m finally caught up on reviews! Reading a few long books really helps with that. You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in January:

Pachinko // Min Jin Lee (5/5)
American by Day // Derek B. Miller (4/5)
Colombiano // Rusy Young (4/5)
The Extra Ordinary Life of Frank Derrick, Age 81 // J.B. Morrison (3/5)

It feels so good to be near caught up! I expect I will be again next week.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

2/12
I’m off to a good start so far. The four books I’ve read so far represent two different eras and I’ve got another one in the works. I’ve ticked off 1940-1959, and 2000-Present. So far, so good!

Goodreads Challenge

4/55
So far, so good! I’m right about on track. If I’d been reading shorter books, I might be ahead. Maybe a few shorter ones coming soon will help with that.

Book of the Month

I’m so in love with Pachinko this month. I’ll be doing a book club reflection on it soon with even more love to share. This book swept me away and kept me engaged for its entire length which was a gift. I loved it so much and I hope I can convince everyone I meet to read it as well!

Added to my TBR

I’m holding steady at 65. Though I think I’ll have a book club blow-up coming soon.

  • Any Way the Wind Blows / Rainbow Rowell. I know I still need to read the second book in this series, but I’m so sure I’ll love it that I’ve added the third.
  • What the Eyes Don’t See / Mona Hanna Attisha. This is a book club pick and one I’m curious to read. It focuses on the Flint, Michigan water crisis. I live about 40 minutes from Flint and this ongoing crisis is one I’m interested to learn more about.

Personal Challenge

I’m gearing up again to track personal goals here. This is a great way to keep me accountable and to tell you about me outside the wide world of books.

  • Triathlon Age Group National Championships: I’ve registered for the race and booked my hotel room. This is my focus race for the year. I’ve signed up for six triathlons this summer and this will be the fourth. The other two are just bonus fun.
  • Submit my novel: I’ve submitted to three agents so far and heard back from one. I’ll talk more about this in my writing check-in.

I’m keeping it basic this year for personal goals. Anything else would be a bonus. Maybe I’ll add more later, but this is good for now.

How are your challenges going so far? I hope you’re off to a good start. If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge for this year, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!