Challenge Update, April 2020

4 May

Another weird month of complete lockdown. It’s funny how much our lives have changed and I wonder when my reading will start to feel normal and less like an escape. You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in April:

The Girl in Green // Derek B. Miller (3/5)
Cuando era puertorriqueña // Esmeralda Santiago (4/5)
Pope Francis Speaks to Our Hearts (3/5)
A Mother’s Reckoning // Sue Klebold (4/5)
Moby-Duck // Donovan Hohn (5/5)
The Alice Network // Kate Quinn (4/5)
The Girl Who Took an Eye for an Eye // David Lagercrantz (3/5)

My last review will be up later this week and then I’ll be all caught up. A lot of audiobooks but that’s my norm when I’m training a lot.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

6/12
Any forward progress is good, even if it’s one step. I used A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold to the 1980-1999 time period. The majority of the book focused on Dyland Klebold’s mental state leading up to Columbine that I feel was more prominent than the time after the event.

Goodreads Challenge

21/55
Three ahead! This is the biggest cushion I’ve had in a while. I hope I can keep it up through the summer and this quarantine. I’m finding a lot of comfort in reading, especially on the weekends and I’m enjoying my books a lot so I’m optimistic about this challenge.

Book of the Month

I just adored Moby-Duck by Donovan Hohn. The author’s tone kept me interested and always surprised at how far I’d come in the book. The topics were interesting, too, and covered a lot of the implications of the spill and the factors that contributed to it. It was good to read some great non-fiction.

Added to my TBR

I’m at 53 and wondering what I do when the list gets too short. I might have to take recommendations or just browse shelves? Whatever will become of me.

  • Old Baggage by Lisa Evans. This is a book club pick, swapped out for another that our moderator decided sounded too dull.
  • The Glass Hotel by Emily St. John Mandel. My husband’s friend praised this book and I’m enjoying some Mandel now so it will be fun to enjoy more of her writing later on.
  • The Ghosts of Eden Park by Karen Abbott. A friend from college was recommending non-fiction and included a 1920s gangster book on her list. How could I not add it?
  • Where the Light Enters by Sara Donati. I enjoyed the first book in this series over a year ago and I look forward to continuing with the series!

Personal Challenge

I’m gearing up again to track personal goals here. This is a great way to keep me accountable and to tell you about me outside the wide world of books.

  • Triathlon Age Group National Championships: I started training at least. I’m doing two workouts per day six days per week. It’s hard not being able to swim but I’ve found some other exercises to substitute that are helping build core strength. So far, this event is still on. But I’m not optimistic that it will take place. All I can do is wait and see.
  • Submit my novel: I’ll do a whole post on this tomorrow. Suffice it to say, not happening, and may have to get scratched for this year’s goals.

How are your challenges going so far? I hope you’re off to a good start. If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge for this year, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

6 Responses to “Challenge Update, April 2020”

  1. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer May 4, 2020 at 10:53 PM #

    Looks like you had a great month! Good luck with all your challenges. Hopefully May will be good to us. 🙂

    Like

    • Sam May 5, 2020 at 7:26 AM #

      Amen. I’m looking forward to a productive May. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. whatcathyreadnext May 5, 2020 at 5:05 AM #

    Seems to me you’re making great progress overall. I’m managing to stay ahead of my Goodreads target too which will be helpful for when I tackle some longer books I have in my TBR pile.

    Like

    • Sam May 5, 2020 at 7:26 AM #

      I have the same concern coming. I hope not to fall too far behind. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Katie May 12, 2020 at 2:17 AM #

    Moby-Duck sounds interesting! I keep thinking I need to read more nonfiction.

    Like

    • Sam May 12, 2020 at 6:21 AM #

      I hope you enjoy it. His writing style was really fun and I enjoyed learning so much about the oceans. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.