Archive | 9:09 AM

Friday 56, 21-Nov-2014

21 Nov

Welcome to the pre-Thanksgiving edition of The Friday 56 hosted by Freda on Freda’s Voice. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs. The community has been really great and I’m excited to jump in!

Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

The book I’ve in the middle of now is The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver. I’m reading this with a few women from my work and I’m the last one to read the copy so I’m rushing through it. I hit page 56 last night and here’s a great quote:

Whenever Ivy looked at her Lou Ann could feel the tired half-moons under her own eyes.

Barbara Kingsolver hits you over the head with great sentences like this one. This book alternates between a first person point of view and a third person, which is where this quote comes from. Lou Ann is a new mother and I can picture her so vividly with tired bags under her yes. But Kingsolver says ‘half-moons.’ It’s so beautiful.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!