Friday 56, 21-Nov-2014

21 Nov

Welcome to the pre-Thanksgiving edition of The Friday 56 hosted by Freda on Freda’s Voice. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs. The community has been really great and I’m excited to jump in!

Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

The book I’ve in the middle of now is The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver. I’m reading this with a few women from my work and I’m the last one to read the copy so I’m rushing through it. I hit page 56 last night and here’s a great quote:

Whenever Ivy looked at her Lou Ann could feel the tired half-moons under her own eyes.

Barbara Kingsolver hits you over the head with great sentences like this one. This book alternates between a first person point of view and a third person, which is where this quote comes from. Lou Ann is a new mother and I can picture her so vividly with tired bags under her yes. But Kingsolver says ‘half-moons.’ It’s so beautiful.

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

8 Responses to “Friday 56, 21-Nov-2014”

  1. Cynthia November 21, 2014 at 9:49 AM #

    That is an awesome quote. I think I would want to read that book based on the quote alone.

    Like

    • Sam November 21, 2014 at 2:06 PM #

      Kingsolver is really talented. This isn’t even my favorite line I’ve seen in the book so far, but it’s the best on that page.

      Like

  2. Claudia {SparrowHawk} November 21, 2014 at 2:44 PM #

    You had me curious as to why someone would invite such a wearisome feelings, by simply glancing at someone, but when you mentioned that Lou Ann is a new mother, it all made perfect sense. Also, I agree that the metaphors used are very lyrical, Umrigar is one author that had me literally entranced with her expressive poetic writing 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

    • Sam November 21, 2014 at 3:20 PM #

      What I love about Kingsolver is that she’s able to create very strong and unique voices. The other book of hers that I’ve read is ‘The Poisonwood Bible’ which had a series of sisters as narrators, each with a strong and unique voice. She’s a really gifted writer, much like Umrigar.

      Happy Reading!

      Like

  3. fuonlyknew November 21, 2014 at 6:49 PM #

    Half moons. I’ll have to remember that when I look in the mirror after a long day at work. Love the quote and I enjoy books where there are so many to make note of.
    Here’s my 56 – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/11/21/the-friday-56-45-torn-a-fire-born-novel/

    Like

  4. fredamans November 21, 2014 at 8:24 PM #

    I can’t help but wonder why so tired? Emotional trauma or insomnia?? I’m definitely intrigued…
    Happy weekend!

    Like

    • Sam November 22, 2014 at 12:38 PM #

      I think being a new mother tired her out! Little sleep and a crying baby might do that, haha.

      Like

      • fredamans November 22, 2014 at 1:24 PM #

        I’ve had two kids, which are now both grown, and honestly I am just as tired now as I was 20 years ago when my son was born.
        The gist I got was it was deeper than just being a new mom.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.