Sam’s Favorite: Books I read before Goodreads

26 Mar

I’ve run into a problem the last few weeks where I don’t have enough content to post something on Thursdays. I’ve decided I’ll use this time to post some topics that are a little more personal. Last week, I talked about how I read more than one book at a time. This week, I want to feature some great books that got lost in my Goodreads shelves.

These include some of my favorite books of all time! These are the 5-star books I read before I started tracking my books on Goodreads. I’m listing them in alphabetical order to show impartiality. And you’ll notice Harry Potter missing from here. That could be its own post. Use the links to take you to the book’s page.

The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.

  • These books were some of the first ‘can’t put it down’ books I’d read in a few years. My husband lent me the first one and I devoured it! The second and third were Christmas presents to him and I refused to let him read on without me. He read 2/3 of ‘Catching Fire’ out loud to me as we drove to Cincinnati for a family vacation. The third is purposefully missing from this list because I was disappointed with the ending.

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

  • I can’t explain why, but I love circus books. Especially historical circus books. Is that specific enough? I thought this story was so well woven and the characters were really well done. The movie was okay but didn’t have the visual prowess the book did.

The Outsiders by SE Hinton

  • When I’m asked for my favorite book of all time, this is the book I tell people. The story moved me when I first read it in middle school and to this day, it still makes me want to cry. It’s an amazing story.

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

  • John Irving is my favorite author and this is my favorite book by him. It’s the first I read and my favorite high school teacher recommended it to me. It’s a great story. I lent my copy to a co-worker and I’m afraid I’ll never get it back!

The Guinea Pig Diaries by AJ Jacobs

  • Jacobs is my favorite non-fiction writer. His longer works are great, but these short little experiments were great! Each was well thought-out and executed and I loved them all. I used the ‘Outsourcing’ story for a class project and my professor loved it.

A Separate Peace by John Knowles

  • The first book I read for school and wanted to re-read later. It was the first time I ‘got’ symbolism and it reminds me of The Dead Poet’s Society in setting. Great book.

Sometimes life before Goodreads seems like it was a lifetime ago when really it was a few years. What are some of the best books you read before Goodreads? Leave a comment and let me know!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

4 Responses to “Sam’s Favorite: Books I read before Goodreads”

  1. Ashley March 26, 2015 at 11:33 AM #

    I loved Water for Elephants. 🙂

    Like

    • Sam March 26, 2015 at 11:36 AM #

      Great book! I read one of her others and it was okay, nothing special. Gruen has a new one out that I’m thinking I need to get my hands on!

      Like

  2. Cynthia March 28, 2015 at 3:13 AM #

    Water for Elephants was one of the books I read pre-Goodreads as well. I loved that book! I actually read it after I saw the movie (which is unusual for me) and I thought they did a great job with the adaptation.

    Like

    • Sam March 28, 2015 at 9:02 AM #

      I saw the movie well after I read the book so I couldn’t recall how close they were. Good to hear they did well with it.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.