WWW Wednesday, 26-February-2020

26 Feb

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived here on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Note: For users of Blogspot blogs, I’m unable to comment on your posts as a WordPress blogger unless you’ve enabled Name/URL comments. This is a known WordPress/Blogspot issue. Please consider enabling this to participate more fully in the community. 


Currently reading: I’m in love with Lethal White by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling). I’ve liked all of the Galbraith novels so far but I think this one is the most engaging yet. Robin’s story is more involved now and I’m really invested in her marriage and how it’s affected by her job. I think this is a great layer that’s been added to the story and I can’t wait to see how it ends.
I haven’t gotten very far into White Oleander by Janet Fitch. Maybe I’ll get through some during my vacation but I’m not going to plan on it too much. I hope to be having so much fun that I don’t get to read outside of travel time! Fingers crossed.
I did get started with just a bit of Fingersmith by Sarah Waters. I hope to concentrate on this one during my travels. It’s nice and long and I think it will keep me entertained for long flights and ferry rides. I’ll be really pleased if I finish it.

Recently finished: I rushed to finish What the Eyes Don’t See by Mona Hanna-Attisha on Saturday. I got the review written and posted yesterday as well. I’m so glad I’ve read this book and understand the Flint water crisis better now. I live close to Flint and it’s hard to believe something so terrible could happen an hour from where I live. It’s really eye-opening. I gave the book Four out of Five Stars.

I was able to review Wild Ink by Victoria Hanley on Monday. It was an okay read, nothing special for me. I think I would have gotten more out of it if I hadn’t read two other books on writing recently. I gave it Three out of Five Stars.

Reading Next: I plan to pick up Cuando era puertorriqueña by Esmeralda Santiago when I get back from Greece. I need to get started on my Spanish book for the year. I can’t believe I’ve put it off this long.


Leave a comment with your link and comment (if you’re so inclined). Take a look at the other participant links in the comments and look at what others are reading.

Have any opinions on these choices?

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

71 Responses to “WWW Wednesday, 26-February-2020”

  1. Laurel-Rain Snow February 26, 2020 at 1:35 AM #

    I am curious about What the Eyes Don’t See. I have also been meaning to read some of Galbraith. Enjoy your vacation and your books, and here’s MY WWW POST

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 9:22 AM #

      I’m not sure how meaningful What the Eyes Don’t See would be for someone further from the crisis. I hope it would be equally impactful. Happy reading!

      Like

  2. JLS Hall February 26, 2020 at 2:03 AM #

    Interesting list of books! I’ve had Fingersmith on my “must read” list for too many years now and keep putting it off because it’s just such a long book. Hope you enjoy that one and all your other reads.

    Here’s my WWW for this week: https://jlshall.blogspot.com/2020/02/www-wednesdays-26-february-2020.html

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 9:23 AM #

      That’s exactly why I picked it for my trip haha. Happy reading!

      Like

  3. lilisblissfulpages February 26, 2020 at 3:09 AM #

    I feel like I need to apologize for not knowing that you can speak Spanish or can read and it’s absolutely a brilliant idea to read a book in a different language. I might wanna try doing that someday. I’m currently learning Spanish, just through an app though. hehe.

    Goodluck with your reads and enjoy your vacation.Here’s my WWW:

    WWW Wednesday, 02/26/2020

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 9:24 AM #

      I read the entire Harry Potter series in Spanish and I’ve found my reading level is about YA at this point. It’s a bit exhausting but also really rewarding and great practice. Happy reading!

      Like

  4. alilovesbooks February 26, 2020 at 4:05 AM #

    Happy to hear you’re loving Lethal White. I’ve still to read anything from the series despite owning the first book but I absolutely loved the TV show.

    Here’s my www https://iwuvbooks.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-26th-february-2020/

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:07 AM #

      I haven’t seen the show but I really want to! Though it might change my mental picture of Strike and Robin. Happy reading!

      Like

      • alilovesbooks February 26, 2020 at 11:21 PM #

        The show is great but I know if I read the books now I’ll be picturing the characters the way the actors portray them. For once I’m OK with that.

        Like

  5. whatcathyreadnext February 26, 2020 at 4:26 AM #

    I do hope Fingersmith keeps you entertained during your travels and you manage to squeeze in a bit of reading alongside all the things you’ll be seeing and doing.

    Here’s my WWW https://whatcathyreadnext.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/wwwwednesday-26th-february-2020/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:11 AM #

      Thanks! I usually get a lot of reading done on planes so I’m optimistic. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Katie February 26, 2020 at 5:00 AM #

    Yay for Lethal White! I totally agree about the interesting layer of Robin’s marriage. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you finish it.

    Please visit me at The Cozy Burrow to read my WWW post this week.

    Thanks so much for the linkup!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:45 AM #

      I’m over half way through but that’s still a lot to go. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Katie February 27, 2020 at 5:08 AM #

        I thought the second half was MUCH more interesting than the first, so I hope you get to fly through it!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. _forbookssake February 26, 2020 at 5:44 AM #

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Lethal White, I really need to read it!

    Here’s my WWW post: https://forbookssake.home.blog/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-26th-february-2020/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:45 AM #

      Loving it. And just in time for the next book to be released! Happy reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Tessa Pulyer February 26, 2020 at 6:23 AM #

    Lethal White sounds so good! Safe travels.
    My WWW: https://tessatalksbooks.blog/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-my-bookish-week/

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:46 AM #

      Very good! These are great characters. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Nikki @The Night is Dark and Full of Books February 26, 2020 at 7:11 AM #

    You loving Lethal White is giving me some hope that I might actually end up liking that series when I finally pick it up. I’ve owned the first book for ages and have been hearing mixed things about it!

    I hope you have a wonderful vacation! Have fun 🙂

    My WWW.

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:47 AM #

      I liked the first and third books, not a huge fan of the second. But this fourth one has been amazing! Happy reading.

      Like

  10. charlottealiciaa February 26, 2020 at 7:12 AM #

    Lethal White sounds good, so far I haven’t read any of JK Rowling’s books that aren’t Harry Potter but hope to get around to them at some point. Enjoy your vacation!

    My WWW: https://charlottealiciaa.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-disappointing-reads/

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:12 AM #

      I really like this series. I was less enamored with The Casual Vacancy, though. Happy Wednesday!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. The Gal Herself February 26, 2020 at 7:23 AM #

    I read White Oleander years ago and recall it creeping me out. Which is not to say I didn’t appreciate it and wasn’t enthralled, but it was disturbing. Therefore I hope you’re having such a great time on vacation that you don’t crack the spine.

    I have two novels this week (unusual for me, as I often gravitate to mysteries and biographies). One is historical fiction, the other is chick lit:
    https://onegalsmusings.blogspot.com/2020/02/wwwwednesday_25.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:48 AM #

      I read an abridged version before and I can see why it would leave that impression. I’m wondering how I’ll feel with the full text. Happy reading!

      Like

  12. Sammie @ The Writerly Way February 26, 2020 at 8:48 AM #

    oooh, Fingersmith sounds really interesting! And what a great title. I hope you have a great time in Greece.

    Here’s my WWW post.

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:48 AM #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to enjoy it in the air. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Travis February 26, 2020 at 8:52 AM #

    I’ll give this a shot. No blog for me, but I did just start a newsletter at https://travisennis.com

    Currently Reading:
    – Love by Hanne Orstavik
    – The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead (audiobook)
    – Americanah by Ngozi Chimamanda Adichie

    Recently Finished:
    – City of Glass by Paul Auster
    – Autumn by Ali Smith

    Reading Next:
    – Inland by Tea Obreht
    – Tell Them of Battles, Kings and Elephants by Mathias Enard

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 10:15 AM #

      How are you liking Americanah? I’ve seen a lot of people who have read it but I haven’t heard much feedback. Happy reading!

      Like

      • Travis February 26, 2020 at 10:49 AM #

        I’ve been going through it very slowly, but not because it is difficult to read. For some reason, I’ve just been dipping into and out of it for a while now. It’s not the kind of book where the plot pulls you along, but it is very well-written. It has wonderful character development where the plight of the two main characters illuminates in a harsh-light both the United States and the UK.

        Obviously, I haven’t finished it, but barring a surprise in the last third of the book, I think I can say I highly recommend it.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Genesis @ Whispering Chapters February 26, 2020 at 9:09 AM #

    Oooh enjoy Greece! That’s awesome!
    My WWW
    Genesis | Whispering Chapters

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:25 PM #

      Thanks! At the airport now. Happy reading!

      Like

  15. Leslie February 26, 2020 at 9:49 AM #

    Ahh, Greece is a bucket list!! Enjoy your vacation!

    W.W.W. 2/26/20

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:25 PM #

      Thanks! Just waiting to take off. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. nickimags @ The Secret Library Book Blog February 26, 2020 at 10:25 AM #

    I bet you can’t wait for your trip to Greece is it soon? Here’s my post https://thesecretlibrarysite.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesdays-26-02-20/

    Like

  17. anovelglimpse February 26, 2020 at 11:03 AM #

    Have fun on your vacation!

    My WWW Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Books tales by me February 26, 2020 at 11:18 AM #

    Enjoy Greece…

    WWW WEDNESDAY 26 FEBRUARY 2020

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Sarah @The Great Morrison Migration February 26, 2020 at 11:43 AM #

    Based on your comments on the Galbraith series, I think I should read beyond The Cuckoo’s Calling, which is the only one I’ve read so far. Also, have an amazing time in Greece! Here’s my WWW: https://greatmorrisonmigration.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesdays-february-26-2020/. Have a great week!

    Like

  20. Jolie February 26, 2020 at 12:06 PM #

    I don’t read a lot of nonfiction, but I might pick up What the Eyes Don’t See. I have followed what happened in Flint, closely. Have fun on your vacation!! Here’s mine: https://readwithme2018.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-february-26th-2020/

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:27 PM #

      It’s a great story if you’re familiar with the story. Happy reading!

      Like

  21. Ryan February 26, 2020 at 12:29 PM #

    I hope you’re enjoying your trip. Happy reading!

    WWW Wednesday – February 26, 2020

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Lady of Bookland February 26, 2020 at 12:43 PM #

    I actually have not heard of any of the books that you are talking about, twhich is good for broadening my book knowledge.
    Here is link for my post > https://journeyinbookland.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-february-26-2020/

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Jocelyn February 26, 2020 at 1:03 PM #

    Where in Greece are you going? I love that country!

    My first ever WWW is here: https://alittlenerdtoldme.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-26th-of-february-2020/

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:27 PM #

      Athens, Santorini, and Crete! Happy reading.

      Like

  24. jessicabookworm February 26, 2020 at 3:09 PM #

    Sam, I am pleased to hear you’re enjoying Lethal White so much – I haven’t read any of the Cormoran Strike books, but I did enjoy the BBC’s TV adaptation which I hope will return soon. Happy reading for the coming week.

    Here’s my WWW post: https://thebookwormchronicles.wordpress.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-26th-february-2020/ 🙂

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:28 PM #

      I need to see the series! Happy reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Arya D. @Arya's Fangirl Lexicon February 26, 2020 at 3:15 PM #

    I’ve been meaning to pick up the next book in Galbraith series but I haven’t yet! The Flint book sounds interesting I’ll check out your review soon! Happy Reading!

    WWW Wednesday: February 26th

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:28 PM #

      I’ll post more soon about my book club’s opinions. Happy reading!

      Like

  26. silverbuttonbooks February 26, 2020 at 3:22 PM #

    If it can happen in Flint, it could happen anywhere so I definitely want to check out What the Eyes Don’t See. Have a wonderful week of reading!

    Here is my WWW: http://silverbuttonbooks.com/2020/02/26/www-wednesday-february-26-2020

    Like

    • Sam February 26, 2020 at 5:29 PM #

      Very true! It’s a really eye opening read. Happy reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Kwizgiver February 26, 2020 at 6:15 PM #

    It’s been a while since I’ve played–still fun! I love the Galbraith series, too. https://www.kwizgiver.com/2020/02/www-wednesday.html

    Like

    • Sam February 27, 2020 at 2:15 PM #

      Glad others enjoy it like I have. Happy reading!

      Like

  28. obsessedwithfairytales February 26, 2020 at 6:50 PM #

    Have a great week!

    WWW Wednesday: February 25th, 2020.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Sherry Jolly February 26, 2020 at 7:24 PM #

    White Oleander is one of my all-time favorite books! Wait until you have the time to thoroughly enjoy the prose of Janet Fitch. It can be so hauntingly beautiful at times even though the story itself is quite devastating! Here is mine! http://bygloryalone.blogspot.com/2020/02/www-wednesday.html

    Like

    • Sam February 27, 2020 at 2:16 PM #

      I like her descriptions a lot so far. I look forward to getting further into it. Happy reading!

      Like

  30. Angie February 26, 2020 at 8:21 PM #

    Great post! 😀 Here’s mine: https://journeyofangie.wordpress.com/2020/02/27/www-wednesday-26-february-2020/

    Liked by 1 person

  31. bookswithcassie February 26, 2020 at 10:14 PM #

    I really need to get on reading the Comoran Strike books. I own the first two but I just haven’t picked them up. Which is silly since I love mystery books and these ones are always raved about!

    WWW Wednesday 2/26/20

    Like

    • Sam February 27, 2020 at 2:17 PM #

      The first was very enjoyable though the second was probably my least favorite so far. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  32. WordsAndPeace February 27, 2020 at 9:35 PM #

    I definitely need to try Lethal White! My post is here https://wordsandpeace.com/2020/02/23/sunday-post-26-2-23-2020/

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WWW Wednesday, 02/26/2020 – Lili's Blissful Pages - February 26, 2020

    […] I’m here to share my recent, current and future reads. WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam from Taking on a World of Words and I highly recommend that you visit her site. Just like me, she’s an aspiring author and […]

    Like

  2. Reading & Knitting Round Up – Week 9 of 2020 – The Cozy Burrow - February 26, 2020

    […] Sam at Taking on a World of Words hosts WWW Wednesday. The Ws stand for: What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish? and What do you think will be next? […]

    Like

  3. WWW Wednesday: February 26, 2020 | Spines in a Line - February 26, 2020

    […] Wednesday is hosted by Sam @ Taking on the World with Words, and asks three important […]

    Like

  4. WWW Wednesday – February 26th, 2020 – Wonderfilled Reads - February 26, 2020

    […] to WWW Wednesday which is currently being hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. It’s really just a place to do little update on what all you’ve been reading lately. Anyone is […]

    Like

  5. WWW Wednesday – February 26 2020 – Rambling Writer - February 26, 2020

    […] WWW Wednesdays is a weekly blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. […]

    Like

  6. WWW Wednesday, 26-February-2020 | My Reading Journey - February 26, 2020

    […] a bit late (as always) but here’s my WWW Wednesday for this week. This meme is now hosted by Taking on a World of Words […]

    Like

  7. WWW Wednesday – 26 February 2020 - Meeghan reads - June 17, 2020

    […] Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words, where you answer the three following […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.