Friday Book Memes, 3-April-15

3 Apr

Welcome to the busiest week of my life edition of Book Blogger Hop, Book Beginnings and The Friday 56 hosted by Coffee Addicted WriterRose City Reader and Freda on Freda’s Voice. It’s likely that I’m on a plane as you read this. Head on over there and check out the other participating blogs.

Book Blogger Hop

This is my first Book Blogger Hop and I plan to make this a recurring thing (as long as I like the questions!). This week’s question is,

Is there one book you will NEVER forget?

Wow, that’s hard to answer. I guess the answer for this would have to be my favorite book, The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. The story has stayed with me for so long and I think about it all the time. I’m ordering jewelry with a quote from the book on it. It’s a timeless story to me.


I’ve finally started a new book! It’s for my book club and I’ve only just gotten to page 56 in Breakfast with Buddha by Roland Merullo. Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

When his sister tricks him into taking her guru on a trip to their childhood home, Otto Ringling, a confirmed skeptic, is not amused. Six days on the road with an enigmatic holy man who answers every question with a riddle is not what he’d planned. But in an effort to westernize his passenger—and amuse himself—he decides to show the monk some “American fun” along the way. From a chocolate factory in Hershey to a bowling alley in South Bend, from a Cubs game at Wrigley field to his family farm near Bismarck, Otto is given the remarkable opportunity to see his world—and more important, his life—through someone else’s eyes. Gradually, skepticism yields to amazement as he realizes that his companion might just be the real thing.

BB.Button

Book Beginnings is all about that very important opening sentence (or two) that us writers are always worrying about!

My name is Otto Ringling (no circus jokes, please) and I have a strange story to tell.

I like this strange turn on a cliché opening. I like that there’s a parenthetical comment from Otto because it lets us know that we’ll be in his head a lot. I also like that he’s upfront that his story is strange. On the same note, it seems a very forward way to start a book. Kind of mixed feelings on this one.


Friday 56

The way this meme works is pretty simple. If you want to join in, head over to Freda’s blog and add your link.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book (I grab the one I’m currently reading)
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.

Page 56 is one of the first conversations between Otto and the ‘buddha’ he’s traveling with, Rinpoche.

I ask you what you do, what Rinpoches do, and you say, ‘I sit.’ That’s cryptic. That’s not what we call in this country an open conversational style.

I like this quote because it shows how much Otto is struggling to get along with his traveling companion. I’m not much further than this point in the book and I’m curious to see how this relationship will develop as I read. Otto seems very much the everyman and I think this book will try to take me on his spiritual journey with him. I’m not sure how this is going to go, but we’ll see!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!

10 Responses to “Friday Book Memes, 3-April-15”

  1. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense April 3, 2015 at 5:27 PM #

    This sounds like it might be an amusing read. Hopefully it’s not too cliche for you. Have a great weekend! P.S. The Outsiders is one of my very favorite books too.

    Like

    • Sam April 3, 2015 at 6:17 PM #

      It’s been very light reading so far. Enjoyable but not too deep. I guess I was expecting more because of the title. Oh well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alysia ~ (@lilpocketbooks) April 3, 2015 at 8:11 PM #

    I haven’t read The Outsiders yet but I have had it on my TBR list Fooooorrrevvverrrr! I think I might have to bump it up on the list.

    Like

    • Sam April 3, 2015 at 8:42 PM #

      I hope you enjoy it. As I said, my favorite book of all time. Happy reading!

      Like

  3. fredamans April 3, 2015 at 9:11 PM #

    Sounds like a fun and unique read!
    Happy Easter weekend!

    Like

    • Sam April 3, 2015 at 9:12 PM #

      To you as well! Hope you find a quiet moment to read.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Silver's Reviews April 4, 2015 at 4:43 PM #

    I haven’t read The Outsiders, but I “think” I have Lunch With Buddha. Wonder if it is similar to Breakfast with Buddha? Sounds fun.

    I had TWO books in my never forget post.

    Thanks for sharing. I hope you are enjoying your weekend.

    Also…a review and giveaway of DON’T TRY TO FIND ME at this link.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2015/04/review-and-giveaway-of-dont-try-to-find.html

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

    Like

    • Sam April 4, 2015 at 4:45 PM #

      Lunch with Buddha is the sequel to this book. I recommend The Outsiders, at least the movie which has some big names in it! Happy reading!

      Like

  5. Elizabeth April 4, 2015 at 9:22 PM #

    Seems like this is the first in a trilogy. Glad it’s humorous and not ultra-deep. I added it to my list. Hope youll have time to stop by. Mine is really good this weeks..

    Like

    • Sam April 5, 2015 at 12:11 AM #

      I knew there was a sequel but didn’t know there was a third. I hope you enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

