Archive | 10:12 AM

Challenge Update, October 2016

1 Nov

For a while, it looked like this month was going to be a bust but the last week had a lot of long books finish off for me thankfully. It was a good month overall, nothing to complain about here! I wasn’t expecting a lot because of school so I’m pleasantly surprised. You can look at my progress at any time on my challenge page.

Books finished in October:

Slade House // David Mitchell
Still Alice // Lisa Genova
Call Me Zelda // Erika Robuck
The Book of Lies // Brad Meltzer (review to come)

Not bad for a busy month! Thank the lord for audio and there will be even more of it in November while I go through NaNoWriMo.

When Are You Reading? Challenge

11/12
This is my challenge to read a book from 12 different time periods. You can read about it here. I’m getting down to crunch time. I’ve got to get this 1600s book read! Does anyone have suggestions? Preferably one on audio? Anything?

Goodreads Challenge

42/45
Soooo close! I’m not at all scared of failing this one and I’ll take my time getting through some long titles in the coming months.

Cover image via Goodreads

Cover image via Goodreads

Book of the Month

Because it’s October, Slade House by David Mitchell is an obvious choice. It was perfect for my book club to talk about this month, too. It’s short, spooky, and nothing like Cloud Atlas.

Added to my TBR

For the third month in a row, I only added one! I’m down to 124 now and I’m super proud of myself. So close to breaking 100 and how that I’m allowing myself some more audio, that will come down even faster.

  • The Birthday Boys by Beryl Bainbridge. I got offered a free copy of the ebook and took it! I’ve read two other Bainbridge novels and enjoyed both. She has a great brief style and always makes you pay attention or you’ll miss something important! I’m looking forward to this one.

How are your challenges going? I hope you’re killing it. If you love historical fiction, give some thought to my challenge, it’s fun!

Until next time, write on.

You can follow me on GoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram. I’m available via email at SamAStevensWriter@gmail.com. And as always, feel free to leave a comment!